We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love those roles”
Review of FATZ

FATZ
Ranked #8 of 86 Restaurants in Irmo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: At FATZ, we serve your favorite American fare with a delicious twist. From steaks to seafood, treat your taste buds to the flavors of FATZ.FATZ is committed to the highest standards of fresh quality food preparation with the finest of ingredients.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love those roles”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Came home and had my favorite calabash chicken yeah soup (potato), and those roles yummy! The manager of this Fatz in Irmo is wonderful and he always has something to add to his menu for his customers. he has the best trained staff to boot!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Divinestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    27
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“the amazing skinny on Fatz”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I took the family to Fatz last week and their culinary skills are amazing. How they got their potato soup to taste like lemon juice is beyond me. And how they got their signature ribs to arrive at the table cold as ice at the same time they brought me a luke warm beer is equally amazing. One in my group ordered an expensive ribeye steak. It was so thin you could see through it...how they kept it from falling apart from the grill to the plate is also amazing. One person ordered fried shrimp. How they got the shrimp to shrink up in the breading so that it separated in clumps was amazing. Oh wait...I do know how...the shrimp was cooked hours in advance and held in a warmer..probably the same one my beer was in. The french were probably good...the day they cooked them....mine were a little on the chilly side. Don't waste your time going here...unless you want to be amazed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gene k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food and service but not so clean”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

On our way to Florida, we stopped in Irmo, SC for the night and had dinner at Fratz. I had never heard of it before but the parking lot was full so we figured it must be a popular place.

Service was good, te hot buns they offered at the start were amazing. Dinner was ok, warm but not hot. Floor in and around the bar was very dirty, perhaps because it was a busy night? but looked like it had not been given a good cleaning in some time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MyTravelTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto ON
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fatz is great”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Checked out Fatz before leaving for our trip to South Carolina and wanted to find a chain restaurant that isn't available in the Northeast states. Fatz was the answer to that. Service was fast and friendly.
Try something that is a favourite on their menu like the Calabash Chicken Strips, like I did you won't be disappointed. They tasted good in the restaurant but even better the next day as a leftover. Couldn't finish my meal like most of the meals we had on our trip. Portions are really big in America. You can't beat chicken strips, fries and a side salad or cup of soup for the price at Fatz.
So Fatz might be a good chain restaurant but it's better then Chili's or TGI Fridays. Service was quick and friendly. So give it a try if you want a different chain restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sakic19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Billboards drew us in”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As we were traveling from Asheville to Myrtle Beach we needed to stop for dinner and the billboards advertising Fatz were just what we were looking for. We were pleasantly surprised by the extensive menu. Our waiter was excellent in helping us make our decisions. Good meal for the price, quick service and we were on our way.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan42469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to FATZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing