We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm With A View !”

Liberty Taproom & Grill
Ranked #10 of 86 Restaurants in Irmo
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Mmmm With A View !”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I had been to Liberty On The Lake for drinks and a band a few weeks back but I figured I'd throw a review out there after we actually had a meal there. In a word ~ excellent. We had friends in town and went this past Saturday (Aug 10) running the risk of trying someplace new for food and having the potential of disappointing our guests. It worked out great. Our meals were flavorful, plentiful and nicely presented. Service was exceptional and the view, well, that's a given. Only let down was a vodka lemonade that was too watery but who's complaining. We will absolutely return soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    67
    56
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with a fantastic view!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been to liberty several times and have never been disappointed. Staff does a great job with service even when extremely busy. Have had several dishes and the burgers are awesome.
Have been with small and large groups and the service has been great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mooresoflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Flies, Hot, and more Flies”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stopped in here about a month ago for the first time and the food was very good, but it was hot inside. They have an indoor/outdoor bar combination so it maintains a fairly constant warm temperature regardless. Looked forward to the 2nd visit and actually drove about 12-13 miles to have dinner. When we arrived they attempted to seat us in one of the 3 booths near the window. I noticed one of the staff waving a menu at the flies in the window of one of the other booths. As the hostess started off after showing us a table, I noticed about 15+ (literally) flies in the window and around our table. No way we are sitting there! The gentleman swatting the flies noticed my apprehension and took me to the hostess desk to see about a different location. I noticed 2-3 empty bar seats and offered to just sit there. Bad decision. Not only was it hot there as we were adjacent to the indoor/outdoor bar opening, it wreaked of clorox (bar glass cleaner?), and those that had arrived obviously much earlier were having an extra good (loud) time. We decided to stick it out but constantly noticed more and more flies everywhere. On the TV screens, flying around us, landing on the staff behind the bar. Yikes. Ordered Iced Tea which apparently disappointed the bartender but was served. Waited a bit for menus and reluctantly ordered. After about 15 minutes one young lady came by wiping the bar down and commented "just need to clean up this disgusting bar" as she wiped the surface in front of us with a wet towel so our space was not somewhere between wet and soaked. W Dried it up myself with about 10 bar napkins. Waited approximately 30 minutes and no food order. After another 5-10 minutes noticed the bartender ask the bar back to check on our order. He left for another 5-7 minutes and came back and covertly provided her some type of update. Not sure what it was, but she had no reaction and just moved on with her other customers. Waited another 7 or 8 minutes and just decided to walk out; unnoticed of course.
Did notice that the obvious boat-up locals were yucking it up and being catered to hand and foot (wine bottles being cooled on ice for them as they drank before they went back out to their boats, looked to be providing a full stalk of celery to another as their left for their slips). Hugging, kissing, like the end of a family reunion.
Staff swapping pictures on phones, comparing hair spray bottle scents (or whatever) with hair all over the bottle, many flying around not really accomplishing anything and others just leaning against the wall motionless.
The place is very loud, not comfortable, and oddly enough with very few customers, lots and lots of staff available, nobody was concerned or attempting to do anything about the flies or missing food.
Not a typical complainer as I sympathize with general public servers in general, but this was very disappointing. Thought we had found a new place with atmosphere and good food to make a regular stop. Wrong atmosphere (actually disgusting) and unfortunately will not return. Too bad!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allwdwfreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location. Good Food. Average Service”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had lunch here with my wife and daughter. We will probably return

Pros:

Great location, with nice views of the lake.
Food was good and fresh.
Great selection of beers.

Cons:

It took a while for the waitress to take our order.
Neither the waitress nor the bartender knew much about the beers on tap.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AverageTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“new but not that great”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

a new restaurant on the lake. liberty certainly surpasses the old place here on the lake and gives us a nicer place to stop by and eat and or drink. service is average as is the food. oysters have been cancelled due to what we were told a timing problem in the delivery from the 3rd floor and 1st floor and then to the patron. oh well. find another place if you want oysters. most everything is well prepared and served but nothing special. must be a on the lake thing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arthur l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Taproom & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Taproom & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing