We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Gem in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Columbia
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Irmo
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect Gem in Great Location”
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Spent 6 days in mid-May in a wonderful find just outside Columbia. The decor both in the room and in the inviting lobby/breakfast areas is wonderful, with an almost oriental look of wood and screens. Cleanliness is unbelievable, with staff picking up a cracker almost as you drop it! The king room included a very large screen TV with high def, a good nook for laptop away from window and TV light distraction. Comfortable large sofa accommodated two sprawlers. We enjoy the clever large ottoman which worked well for both our feet and as part of the sofa, or a little table top. We found the location ideal, with back roads to the big mall and restaurants and right near I-26 to pop into Columbia. But no highway noise intrudes, and the hotel in general is quiet. We especially liked the pool area to sit out under the trees and read or talk, and the Starbucks coffee in the lobby. And several times we used the Cracker Barrel which is next to the hotel. Except for the Cracker Barrel and another suite hotel way away, there is nothing in the section of this road, making a cloistered feel to a very busy part of town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schdyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    140
    44
    26
    22
See reviews for
220
87
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Terrific hotel! Very hip with great amentities and a staff that belongs in any 5 star. Very gracious and welcoming; lots of southern hospitality mixed with upscale service. Cool rooms, huge TV and incredibly comfy beds...Perfect home base when visiting Charlotte and Charleston (Irmo is in between the 2) Good rate (paid just $89.00) and way superior to the normal highway hotels around the area.. There's a Lizard Thicket a couple miles into Irmo...great country breakfasts for less than $6.00!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDW-BOUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

I've stayed at this location, under various names, over the last several years. Last stay here they were converting to Hyatt from their previous incarnation. Last stay noise from the renovations was a major problem.
Now all the changes have been made, the contractors are gone and everything is running well. Rooms are very nice, but dominated by a very big flat screen digital TVs.
The shower area gleams. The work area/coffee area is seperate from the TV/lounge area. Wireless internet access has a strong signal and works well. The one aggreviation is that the closet is almost too small to get a rolling bag into.
Breakfast was not any big thing to get worked up about - lots of good strong coffee and friut. After that there's a charge for items off the display. BUT right across the parking lot is a Cracker Barrel - so breakfast alternatives are close at hand.
This being the new Hyatt concept there's a lot of reliance of kiosks for check in/ check out, and only one staff person. There were times where there was no one to talk to at the front desk. The personal touch has been replaced with high tech self reliance. Sometimes its good, sometimes its not.
The location is just off the highway ramp and is excellant. No question this Hyatt remains high on my list for overnight stays in Columbia.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2008

We arrived at 2:00 AM for check-in and were overly tired. Somehow, in our bleary-eyed state, we locked our keys in the car. The young lady at the front desk called AAA using her own card and got Pop A Lock there within 20 minutes. What an angel.

When we finally got to the room, we were very pleased. Wish we could have enjoyed it more but we had to leave at 10 AM, missing breakfast.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2008

We had some problem finding the place as Google Maps had us exit at Harbleson instead of Lake Murray. Local street signs are white on brown & hard to read even if you see them. When we made it however it was worth the search.

Front desk as well as rest of staff were charming & helpful; room was huge & well furnished; cost was reasonable, breakfast was ungreat but passable. I would have liked being closer to downtown (eat at the Blue Marlin) but it was an easy drive & we would stay again.

  • Liked — Staff & Room
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for a week in June for work. It was amazing. I had never stayed at a Hyatt Place before. The photos on thier website are an exact replica of the room I occupied that week. I was really impressed. The staff members were so friendly and helpful! Hotel was very clean and modern. Nice pool. Great complimentary breakfast. Good location! No complaints! STAY HERE!!!

  • Liked — everything was awesome
  • Disliked — nothing was bad!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank projectfoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Booked the Hyatt Place in Irmo through Priceline and got a great rate of around $75. This is a nice hotel in a quiet area. The room was very nicely furnished with a huge flat screen TV.

The only complaint was that they stopped serving breakfast at 9 AM but considering this was a weekday, I understood.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irmo
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia - Harbison
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Harbison Boulevard
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Columbia Northwest/Harbison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia/Harbison
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites at Harbison
Comfort Suites at Harbison
#29 of 94 in Columbia
97 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbia / Downtown / The Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Columbia

Property: Hyatt Place Columbia
Address: 1130 Kinley Rd, Irmo, SC 29063-9633 (Formerly Amerisuites Columbia)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Irmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Irmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Columbia Hotel Irmo
Hyatt Place Irmo
Hyatt Irmo
Hyatt Place Hotel Columbia
Irmo Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing