We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak Cooked to Perfection”

Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #100 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: William Hilton Parkway
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Steak Cooked to Perfection”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Steak is their specialty, but their homemade butternut squash ravioli is delicious. The baked oysters, which are an appetizer, would make a great entree; add a salad and bread, you have a meal. Besides the dining room, they have a nice bar with that old tavern feel. In here you can get sandwiches and burgers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank corvettegirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    77
    34
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Steaks!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family enjoyed great cuts of beef at Crane's. My prime rib was cooked to perfection, my son had the filet mignonette, also perfect. My husband ordered the rib eye special with shrimp, again another win! The wait staff was very attentive, next trip back to Hilton Head Island, we will return to Crane's.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
207 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not bad food in a plain room with no so great service.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

It was fairly empty food was pretty good service not so much. Overall just one more place to eat with nothing to distinguish itself from the rabble

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockeybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“True Steakhouse Excellence”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Cranes has been a regular stop for us during our annual trips to HH. The food is excellent and consistent - beef up to steakhouse expectations. Service is traditional and good. Cocktails traditional and well made. The brownie dessert is killer.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AnonymousLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite on the island!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our family's favorite on the island! The best crab cakes around and an excellent wine selection! Steaks are excellent and the dessert menu is great too - try to save room!
We have been going to this restaurant for years during our annual visits to HHI.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aveneziano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cranes Tavern & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing