We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice track but very slow play for a Friday”

Arthur Hills Golf Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arthur Hills took full advantage of the Lowcountry's dramatic coastal beauty when he designed this award-winning course at Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort located on Hilton Head Island. Tucked within the serene enclave of Leamington, this shot-maker's favorite offers continuous lines of dunes, a rolling layout, numerous water hazards and thick stands of palmettos. This course emphasizes accuracy and precision over distance, providing formidable challenges at every turn.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great layout - no fairway sand but challenging greens. A fair amount of water but not huge carries from the white tees. Very busy on a Friday afternoon. We should have been able to finish before dark but the wait time on the tee boxes, sometimes as long as 20 minutes, only let us finish 16 holes. As we were driving up to the clubhouse, we found out the reason why - three groups of guys drinking and shouting on the 18th tee box with the next group putting out on the hole, a par 5. The marshalls should have been on top of this better.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank m2swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"palmetto dunes"
in 40 reviews
"pro shop"
in 9 reviews
"blind shots"
in 3 reviews
"average player"
in 2 reviews
"shop staff"
in 2 reviews
"tee times"
in 5 reviews
"in excellent shape"
in 4 reviews
"doug weaver"
in 4 reviews
"great teacher"
in 2 reviews
"sand traps"
in 2 reviews
"driving range"
in 2 reviews
"tee boxes"
in 2 reviews
"hilton head island"
in 6 reviews
in 34 reviews
in 34 reviews
in 5 reviews
in 2 reviews

90 - 94 of 139 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

Play Arthur Hills over the Robert Trent Jones due to the latter having a surcharge. Courses are very similar, so go with the better value.

Date of experience: March 2014
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Arrived in Hilton Head Saturday March 22nd to inspect probable investment/retirement options.
Played the course Thursday March 27th with a pickup couple. Conditions were less than expected. Enjoyed the first 9 which we finished in 2 hours and 5 minutes. On hole 10, the marshal suggested we pick up the pace as he declared we were 15 minutes behind and were on schedule for a 5 hour round. Unfortunately as a polite Canadian I chose not to initiate a confrontation. Needless to say, his sermon had a negative effect on our wives. Actual time for 18 was 4 hours 13 minutes.
No recommendations for this course. Judge for yourself.

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank majorpappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmettoDunes, Manager at Arthur Hills Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your round at the Arthur Hills course. We apologize that we did not exceed your expectations and that you were treated poorly by a ranger. Samm Wolfe, head professional and manager at the Arthur Hills course would personally like to speak with you to gather more appropriate information and details in regard to your experience. As a guest of Palmetto Dunes and our golf courses, we strive to provide the best golfing experience possible and regret that we failed to do so. You can reach Samm at 843-816-1571. We look forward to hearing from you and will use your feedback to continue to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was recently in Hilton Head attending a Conference with 16 guys from Lexington KY. We decided that even though temperatures were to peak at 42 that day that we would give a good go at a round of golf. We got together 10 brave soles and about 50 layers of clothes and headed over to the Arthur Hills Course. I want to point out we had 4 Tee Times at the Robert Trent Jones Course and that the service and cooperation between both Palmetto Dunes was fantastic. They called to say the greens were frozen on the RTJ course but that they could get us on at our convenience at the Arthur Hills Course. The service was outstanding. Even in January this is a very nice course. I also would like to point out to winter golfers that this course seems to be better sheltered from wind than many of the other HH tracks. The layout is one that can be challenging from all distances and skill levels and provides for great fun. I could tell that when spring comes along that the course is will be a very beautiful traditional style course. It is apparent that they take great care of the course and facilities.

Date of experience: January 2014
1  Thank LexH773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

If you want a course that truly uses every club in your bag, then this course is for you. There are poles at the 150yd points and these prove to be very good guides on your tee shot and layup placements.

Date of experience: January 2014
Thank Lloyd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arthur Hills Golf Course also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina

Been to Arthur Hills Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing