We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE had a great breakfast”

Palmetto Bay Sun Rise Cafe
Ranked #13 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
United States
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“WE had a great breakfast”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a great breakfast. The service was great. They serve fresh fruit. It is not a greasy fried breakfast. They had a large selection of items to choose from.It was a great find. Affordable. It will be a favorite repeat experience for us. The only negative thing I can say is I would rather not have dogs at my eating place. Dogs belong at home where we left ours.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMamad1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    168
    49
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Very Good Breakfast - Interesting Menu”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Sun Rise Cafe is a favorite with locals. We waited about 25 minutes to be seated on a Sunday AM. This is a no frills, intimate restaurant with genuinely good food. There is both indoor and outdoor seating. It is a hopping place, and the service could have been better. With that said, service was friendly, just not as attentive as we may have liked.

My husband had the "special" - a corned beef hash which he loved. (I understand from others that the shrimp hash is awesome.) I had the quiche of the day served with fruit which was very good. Others in our group had the cinnamon french toast which they said was tasty, but would order something more unique the next time.

Overall, a good way to begin our vacation. Entree's ranged from $8 - $12, so we felt it was a good value for the island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maawandoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredible Breakfast – Best Ever”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We found this restaurant the 2nd day we were on Hilton Head and it was so good we went every day after. The food is outstanding there are daily specials that we chose every morning. We hated to leave the island because of this restaurant. They are in a really cool location with other restaurants. Service is super and it is good for a family this is definitely local’s type of place which made it more fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“sorry, sun rise”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Sad to say, my husband and I did not like the cafe at all. Right from the start, the hostess was not friendly, sat us at an inside table and we sat and sat and sat. No one bothered to come, they would look at us and run around to different tables. I noticed there were a couple waitress laughing and socializing with the hostess for quite sometime, not attending to any customers out on the patio. After patiently waiting for a waitress, I decided to go outside to ask if anyone was going to wait on our table, I explained that we were sitting there for a very long time, and no one had come yet. The three of them thought that was funny somehow, one of the waitress said, Oooooo!!!! I thought that was rude, and we should have left the and there. Our service was not good at all, I felt uncomfortable and couldn't wait to leave. The breakfast itself was average. I did not understand all the hype. Maybe we caught them on a bad day, but I will never know, because we will never give them a second try. Sorry, sun rise.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laceysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Go every visit to HH”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We love to ride our bikes to Sunrise Cafe for breakfast. Food very good, service friendly. We get tables quicker during week.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psl126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmetto Bay Sun Rise Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Palmetto Bay Sun Rise Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing