We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average Italian. ”

Bella Italia Bistro & Pizzeria
Ranked #125 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bella Italia is a family owned and operated italian restaurant on Hilton Head Island, specializing in authentic Italian specialties served in a warm inviting atmosphere.
Amherst, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Below average Italian. ”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

I was hesitant from the time we walked in, ripped old chairs and plastic tablecloths were not a good first impression. They were out of fried mozzarella and Caesar salad. The chicken Parmesan was not crispy and the sauce was burnt, the food was definitely all microwaved. The only good thing was the side salad and garlic bread. We will not be returning.

Helpful?
4 Thank lolak2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    71
    15
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, NJ, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Supper”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We ended up at Bella Italia because the three restaurants we tried first were all closed on Sunday, and we had heard the pizza was good. Actually, the Pizza Martini was as good as our favorite in northern NJ. The Pasta Anthony was delicious - penne with vodka sauce, sweet Italian sausage and fresh spinach. Our server, Napoleon, guided us through the menu, as his family has been involved with the restaurant for about 20 years. I would highly recommend Napoleon and these dishes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statham, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST PIZZA”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My wife and I think this was the best pizza we have ever had. We came in by chance. Was looking for another place but it was closed on Sunday. We just wanted a light snack and a dessert. Ordered a med pizza, figuring we could take it for leftovers. Not a chance once we started eating it we couldn't stop. Then had our dessert and made us feel guilty for eating so much. But the pizza was too good, we didn't want to save it for later. The service was great, we talked with some locals who had been coming here for 18 years, 18 YEARS! Most of the people in there were locals. Maybe I shouldn't be giving them such a great review, don't want to spoil the place with tourists.....LOL. Even though that's what we were. This is a must stop for us on our next trip to HHI. I can't say enough good things. Service was personal, atmosphere was intimate put not stuffy. And the local people tell you it's good if they keep coming back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slw642000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
2 reviews
“great food and service”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The food was delicious, nice decor and excellent service. this will be a regular place we visit when in Hilton Head

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank val d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had dinner at Bella last night and it was fantastic! I have never had better sauce or meatballs at a restaurant. The pizza was the best I have ever had on the island! The closest to the pizza I am used to up north. The salads were also great!! And the prices are ridiculously low comparatively. This is now my new spot for authentic italian food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia Bistro & Pizzeria also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bella Italia Bistro & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing