We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Truffles Cafe Pope Avenue - CLOSED

Truffles Cafe Pope Avenue
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pope Avenue
Description: A family tradition and neighborhood favorite since 1983. Truffles Cafe is proud to offer upscale dining in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Everything on our menu is prepared daily from the freshest ingredients utilizing farm to table freshness and locally sourced products whenever possible. Enjoy favorites like our center cut filet with homemade buttermilk mashed potatoes, fresh gouper with parmesan basil glaze, our award winning fall off the bone baby back ribs or our perfectly grilled tuna napa salad. We offer a full bar and wine list featuring over 60 bottles from around the world many by the glass. Outdoor seating is available on our beautiful fully covered terrace. Enjoy a glass of wine or cocktail by the fire and watch your favorite television event on our 100 inch outdoor HD television. We look forward to serving you, your family and friends soon!
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great food and service! The Bruce appetizer is the best ever, bisque was fabulous and entrees fri, seafood to past were wonderful!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank myscshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    136
    42
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food fair price”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I had the Mahi mahi, which was great. My dining partner had New Orleans chicken pasta which was also delicious. Nice atmosphere and attentive server. No complaints here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OhioMeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have visited Hilton Head for many, many years, but had yet to try Truffles Cafe. We eat out most nights while on vacation and enjoy many good restaurants that Hilton Head has to offer. However, Truffles Grill is one we won't be going back to. The prices are a little lower than other restaurants on the island, but the service, food and atmosphere were disappointing. Obviously, others do like it as the place was quite busy. We had reservations but were seated in the bar area, and our server couldn't keep up with his tables. We ordered wine, but even being in the bar area, had a very long wait both times we ordered a glass of wine. It was quite noisy too. We had the mahi mahi and salmon, both with overpowering toppings. Nothing "wowed" us. After our plates were cleared the waiter showed back up and dropped the check off, without offering us dessert or coffee. Guess he was in a hurry. There are too many other great restaurants for just a few dollars more so we'll skip Truffles in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good evening”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Service and food was very good. One of the few places that really offered a true grilled piece of seafood. Atmosphere was relaxing, had a nice time. Pricing very reasonable. Would go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I loved everything about this restaurant...the food, atmosphere, service. Attractive, contemporary yet cozy décor. the food was delicious. A wonderful place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rose p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Truffles Cafe Pope Avenue also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing