We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very yummy!”

Main Street Cafe & Pub
Ranked #22 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving seafood, steaks, southern favorites and "pub fare with a creative flair" Serving ALL YOU CAN EAT CRAB LEGS AFTER 5:00 PM 6 NIGHTS A WEEK..... OPEN SUNDAYS MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND TO LABOR DAY WEENKEND
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very yummy!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Ended up having lunch here 2 different times on our trip. The atmosphere is comfortable and the food quite yummy! Our server was very friendly. The hamburger on the patty melt was so fresh & obviously hand prepared. Love that! The homemade potato chips were very good too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lmd405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I love our patty melts. Our hamburgers are hand formed and we use a certified angus beef. They are so good. The home made potato chips are addicting. It is always a huge compliment when someone dines with us multiple times during their stay. Thank you so much

Thank you
Faith Roppelt
partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    257
    76
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stopped by for a late lunch, the restaurant was not terribly busy, but it seemed to take quite awhile for the waitress to take our order. She did not appear to be terribly interested in providing a positive experience. My husband ordered a special trout platter, which was good, I ordered a grilled fish sandwich, which was not cooked completely. When I brought this to the servers attention her response was "that happens sometimes". Considering the poor quality of service we received, along with the unsatisfactory food preparation and the fact that our drinks tasted more like chlorine than cocktails, we will not return, nor would we recommend this establishment to others.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wild1ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have reviewed this incident with your server. We are sorry if we in anyway appeared to be nonchalant about your fish sandwich it was not our intent. Although we offered to rectify the problem it was obviously not enough! We are glad your husband enjoyed the trout. We can only hope that you will give us another chance. We have reviewed customer perception with our whole team in an effort to ensure this does not happen again.

Thanks again
Faith Roppelt
partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great local eatery!!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great place to feel like a local. Very friendly and Faith, the owner, is always there to be sure that you have the best food and service. Food is always good. Living here, we go quite often. Be sure to stop by. Great salads.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misha00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and Thanks so much for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoy dining with us . We look forward to seeing again.


Thanks again
Faith Roppelt
partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good lunch/brunch on a Saturday”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our second time here, just a bicycle ride away from our home. First visit was a late light supper and second was lunch and brunch which is served on the weekends - brunch that is. Very friendly efficient service and our eggs Benedict and blackened chicken wrap were very good with very fair prices. The wrap came with the best sweet potato fries ever. Noticed several other plates being served, all of which looked good and generous. We sat on the patio since the weather was pleasant with a nice breeze. It was a little noisy since it fronts on a parking lot, but not bad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cferry39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so honored that you took the time to dine with us twice. We serve brunch on Saturday and Sunday and I love our Eggs Benedict and our Sweet Potatoes fries. The Patio is a great way to dine.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you are on the Island


Thanks again
Faith Roppelt
partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good for lunch”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good place for lunch, where a lot of locals go. Good Rubens, wings, soup and salads. Drink prices are reasonable and delicious specials.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoy our Reubens, wings, soup and salads. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you next time


Thanks again
Faith Roppelt
partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Cafe & Pub also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Main Street Cafe & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing