We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the Beaten Path”

Main Street Cafe & Pub
Ranked #31 of 381 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving seafood, steaks, southern favorites and "pub fare with a creative flair" Serving ALL YOU CAN EAT CRAB LEGS AFTER 5:00 PM 6 NIGHTS A WEEK..... OPEN SUNDAYS MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND TO LABOR DAY WEENKEND
Reviewed August 31, 2013

While on vacation on Hilton Head Island we took our daughter for dinner at the Main Street Cafe. We had a wonderful meal on the patio of this pleasant restaurant. Our server was friendly and helpful and the crab legs were to die for. The key lime pie was worth every calorie we didn't need.
Service was relaxed but good. We will definitely be back next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zsiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you found us. The patio is a great way to dine, especially lately with the great weather we are having. Sounds like you had a great experience and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Thanks again

Faith Roppelt
partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 612 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I stopped in a few weeks ago, we placed our order, and waited and waited and waited. Finally the waitress admited she forgot to putbin our order! We had to leave due to an appointment, could not wait an additional 30 min! Thought we would give it another try this week, well never again! I ordered the lobster roll which was on the chewy side. My husband ordered the fish sandwich, it was slimy and had no flavor. The cole slaw faired no better, way too sweet. Pretty sure not going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AllyJoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so sorry for your poor experiences. I was here for both these incidences and all I can do is apologize profusely. We very rarely have poor incidences and having 2 with the same party is shameful. Although we took the steps to attempt to rectify the problems it was obviously not enough. I can only hope that you will give us another try .

Thank you
Faith Roppelt
partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

every reviewer is correct about the crab legs, plentiful and so delicious! We were 4 women on a quick road trip, and this was a great find. Desserts were delicious also, especially the homemade key lime pie. One of the best experiences was the staff, from the owner on down. Very pleasant experience. We are definitely going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hoopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It was our pleasure meeting you all. What inspiring stories you had about your reasons for travelling. Kudos out to you all.

We look forward to seeing you next year as you continue living it up.


Thank again
Faith Roppelt
partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

While in Hilton Head over July 4th we tried out this resturant and loved the food so much we went back three more times before our week was over. Great variety, pleasant staff and reasonable. We really enjoyed it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Wow Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We consider it a huge compliment when vacationers are here for a limited amount of time a choose to dine with us multiple times.
With 280 plus restaurants on the island that sure says a lot.


Thanks again for the great review

Faith Roppelt
partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place by accident and I loved it! Sam gave great recommendations and excellent service! If you have time go for the all you can eat crab legs!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank runner28hhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Sam is a great bartender. So glad you stumbled upon us.
Hopefully next time you are on the Island you will come back to see us


Thanks again

Faith Roppelt
partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Cafe & Pub also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Main Street Cafe & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing