We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Locals little secret”

Main Street Cafe & Pub
Ranked #28 of 364 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving seafood, steaks, southern favorites and "pub fare with a creative flair" Serving ALL YOU CAN EAT CRAB LEGS AFTER 5:00 PM 6 NIGHTS A WEEK..... OPEN SUNDAYS MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND TO LABOR DAY WEENKEND
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Locals little secret”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Favorite dining experience on hilton head. Must try this place , u will return I promise. Food is excellant and service was great. We went 3 times in a wk. What ever they are doing, they are doing it right. Worth every penny.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodcritic650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. We are always grateful to the visitors that find us and dine with us multiple times during their vacation. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are here.

Thank you so much

Faith Roppelt
partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    250
    73
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
467 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Place Indeed”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I'm rating this very nice place as Very Good primarily because it's located in a nice little area, the environment both inside and out is very pleasant, and the staff is as friendly and professional and you'd ever want. But, based on our one experience here for lunch, I'd have to rate the food (that we had) as only Average. But don't forget that there are many other items on the menu that might be just terrific, and we'll bet that there are. On a recent (and rare) rainy day, my wife and I stopped by for lunch and were quickly shown to a table by the window, not far from the bar, where I could see myself hanging out ever so often, given the availability of good beers and other interesting libations. But not today. I ordered their famous seafood chowder, which was very creamy, filled with who-knows-what critters of the sea, but served not hot enough for my taste... which seems to be too often the case at many American restaurants. After all, soup will only get cooler after having been served; it does not naturally get hotter sitting at the table. We shared a lobster salad roll and a grilled grouper sandwich, one with French fries and one with cole slaw. Both rolls were fairly close to soft Wonder Bread out of the bag. At basic cooking school we learned that the taste and texture of such bread can be easily enhanced by a common process called "toasting" - on a grill, under a broiler or... in a toaster. Even a little bit can make a big difference. The lobster salad was okay. The fries were very fresh. The grouper was all too thin and the slaw was okay, too. Nothing that I'd rate as Wow! Can't wait to come back! So, we paid almost $40 for lunch, stayed out of the rain and probably will come back someday when the sun's shining and we can sit outdoors, and we'll probably try something else. But it's a very nice place, that's a fact.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write review. We appreciate all your feedback. We look forward to your return visit.I hope next time it is a bright sunshiney day.


Thanks again
partner
Faith Roppelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fried green tomatoes and the cafe burger are soo good!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Fried green tomatoes and cafe burger are so very good. We also loved the ranch/horseradish sauce so much we put it on everything! Cindy was our waitress with all the news about town, our menu, and best service we have had all year:) we went more than once on our vacation because we loved it (asking for Cindu evertime)!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsayaboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to wrtie such a great review. We are so glad you enjoyed our place. It is always the ultimate compliment to have vacationers dine here multiple times during their trip.

Thanks again

See you next time

Faith Roppelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fresh oysters and great service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We tried the place for a happy hour and we weren’t disappointed.
Our waitress, Cindy, was the best. She recommended the fried oysters and we weren’t disappointed. They were fresh and large and not greasy. Delicious! The wings were good and so were the drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Cyndi is a great server and very knowledgable. I am so glad you enjoyed the fried oysters.We do not always have oysters this time of year, so what a treat.

Thank you again

Faith E Roppelt
partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Food was excellent and prices reasonable. The crab and fish were very fresh and the homemade potato chips were some of the best. We've been there twice and had very good experiences. Waitresses were also pleasant. I enjoyed the owner stopping by our table to see if everything was all right. She was very nice and friendly

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kriskmiecik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
faith r, Owner at Main Street Cafe & Pub, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am totally addicted to our home made potato chips. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.


Thanks Again

Faith E Roppelt
partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Cafe & Pub also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Main Street Cafe & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing