We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Marleys Island Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Marleys Island Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Greenwood Dr.
Description: Marleys Island Grille features a casual, yet sophisticated, upbeat, fun tropical environment. We are passionate about serving only the freshest wood-fired grilled seafood, steaks, succulent lobsters and much more. Our full service bar prepares the most refreshing, coolest libations, specializing in mojitos, margaritas, house made sangria and tropical drinks. Don"t forget to visit Marleys Homemade Ice Cream and Trading Company next door!
Hilton Head, SC
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Weve gone lots of times when we wanted ordinary sea food, particularly shellfish, and it's been satisfactory. Always noisy with average service, but we knew this to be the case when we last went. What was different were the cold tough entrees, indifferent service, lack of concern to rectify the situation by the waitress, and total disinterest by the manager. Fortunately, living here, we have lots of good eating options of which we will avail ourselves. If you're feeling lucky, give it a try and maybe you'll hit a good day.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gunnerHiltonHead_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,246
    538
    193
    59
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The entree could have been better”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went to Marley's on New Years eve, and decided to have their special New Year's offering that included appetizer, soup or salad, entree, and dessert.
The appetizer and soup was fantastic! In fact the Pimento cheese appetizer with shrimp should be a regular part of the menu. The soup was delicious, but my entree left a little to be desired. The lobster tail was way too salty; in fact 43 of us had the same entree and each felt the same way. The crab cake had a little too much filler, and the filet mignon was really good, but was covered with too much sauce.
The dessert, very good. We will go back, but Marley's needs to taste what they are putting out as an entree.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We discovered this wonderful restaurant on our recent visit to Hilton Head Island. It is just outside the Sea Pines Plantation gate and we returned several times for lunch. The restaurant has an island food theme; we met the chef and discussed various recipes for plantains. I loved the Red Chili Rubbed Flank Steak with chimichurri sauce. The she crab soup is wonderful as are the fish tacos. Good service and good food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tankersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilton head
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“pssssst! happy hour is a tremendous secret!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Locals might not frequent Marleys during the "Season" but I have to tell you that at the bar, from 4-8 pm ( a big window) 7 days a wk, they have a tremendous happy hour. Check out the menu on their web site ......... go with the rare tuna, chicken enchiladas, fish tacos, and split the HUGE onion rings!

Sitting at the bar, i watched who i later found out was the MGR (Brad?, Bentin?) at the "food window" and he was pretty much on top of things . My bar tender on this slow Sunday was Melissa who was friendly and really cute (wink wink)

At any rate, it was a slow evening but as a former FnB (food and bev) guy, I had the front seat to witness an "angry table"........... Not sure what they were angry about but they had a screaming baby kinda like from the Excorcist or something. What impressed me was that Brad/Benton went over to address them and then, a few minutes later Melissa went to try to sooth as well! Bottom line, management was concerned and i think soothed the guest..... that means a lot to me to see two employees tag team a situation

These folks (angry table) probably should have been at the Hilton Head Diner or something? Who knows.......?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hhbartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Visited Marleys with my husband and his parents while on vacation. His parents eat here frequently while at Hilton Head, but it was my first time. I really enjoyed, and recommend, the Red Chili Rubbed Flank Steak. The chimichurri sauce on the steak is so delicious! Everyone else at the table enjoyed their food, but agreed that mine was the most delicious. Hope you enjoy your dinner!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank southshorean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marleys Island Grille also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Marleys Island Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing