We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head to your Saves list
Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 South Forest Beach Drive 36 S Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“a surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I got to stay here by "Deep Well Project" I happened to like it, the people who work there were more than beautiful. I was tired and she gave me a clean room, good heat, good hot water and there was a fridge, micro wave, coffee, and I slept and I was happy. the beach across the street with a path you walk down, they had an iron, iron board, and hair dryer. I liked it.

Room Tip: 4505 this was the room I stayed in it was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susanhylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nashville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Positive first - close to the beach. Beach access is right across the street so it's a short walk out to the beach (not even a block). Receptionist was nice. Room was good sized but tired and worn and so-so clean. Had a balcony but smallest balcony I had ever seen and view over pool showed the pool to be less than desirable. This would be the type of hotel for young people on spring break.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with balcony - those looked full sized
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamied39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel had their parking quite a ways away with an uphill walk with our luggage...not good for 1:00 am check in. Hotels.com said the hotel was 9 miles away. In reality we we were an hour and a half away. The hotel had no hot water for our morning showers. My friend's business is online and we had no wi-fi service either night. No one came into our room during the day. I can live with my bed not being made, but we had no clean towels for when we would be getting up at 6 am to return to our destination. After going downstairs and finding no one was at the desk, we called the phone number and that did no good either. Finally after 27 minutes or so, someone arrived at the desk to take care of us and another couple waiting to check in. The night person who finally identified himself as Keith, finally agreed to bring us towels. ( No washcloths though). We did not have a good nights sleep either night since we lost 3 hours twice (an hour an a half each way, twice). Again, this was because of their error of mileage on the Hotels.com website.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjcmollymeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
240 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Aug. 15-18. Yes parking can be a challenge. But it's free. Rooms are large, clean, cold and comfortable. Great value...no an outstanding value. .how long do u spend in the room. Hincheys bar is a plus. We stay here at least 4 times a yr. Front desk staff is always pleasant. You have to treat people the same way you want to be treated. Its our go to place. Its not the Rizt...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txlnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I wish we'd have read the reviews before booking. WE DID NOT STAY HERE. We were given
a " parking pass " though there is no parking. 6 spots for the entire hotel. You have to park in the back behind a gated complex, down a deserted road. Two guys hanging out in a panel van. Not a safe place to leave your car or walk at night. After we were told to come back at 4pm, a man followed us out of the hotel to our car and asked if we were single because they had a ladies special going on at the hotel. We said no and we're not interested. He ran back inside and disappeared. The front desk had no idea who he was, so she claimed. We just had a very bad feeling about the place. The pool was closed. We went elsewhere and cancelled this one. Good thing too. When we mentioned the hotel to anyone, they knew exactly what we were talking about. We are not HHI " snobs " as someone referred to vacationers. Just normal people looking for a clean, affordable stay. We come here yearly and have always had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We didn't get that far
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank klsulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

2nd time in vacation at Metropolitan Hotel, Hilton Head Island. Same like last year, very clean room, good service, excellent bar and restaurant at 1st floor. The front desk needs a little bit training. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Decebal-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Look, this place inst the Hilton. Not even close. The parking is terrible, the hotel is hot, and you're lucky if someone is at the front desk. But if you and some friends want an ok, cheap place to stay its really not that bad. I just did 2 nights there and it was perfectly acceptable. Its very close tot he beach, its close to Sea Pines and Harbour Town, and there's a fun little bar and restaurant in it to pass the time late at night. I honestly dont have very much to complin about. I had fun, I felt clean and there was no issue at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach House, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#6 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn South Forest Beach
Quality Inn South Forest Beach
#23 of 27 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.0 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#10 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#3 of 27 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Address: 36 South Forest Beach Drive 36 S Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hilton Head
Hilton Head Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing