We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean room, great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean room, great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

If you expect name brand quality and glitter, this isn't the place for you. Yes, it is a bit tired and has had its share of guests that have treated the property unkindly. However, we found our room to be quite clean. We read the reviews before we booked, set an expectations and were not displeased. The proximity to the beach is awesome. The staff was friendly and courteous. If you are looking for a reasonably pricednplacemto stay, near the beach, it's a good choice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    30
    37
    130
See reviews for
91
45
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Proctorville, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel was across the street from the path right to the ocean, so it was a quick 2 minute walk. The hotel is pretty old, and the pillows were awful, but the room suited us fine since we were not there very much. It saved us money, and still let us be close to a great area of Hilton Head.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skyllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We spent a weekend at this hotel. We had our 2 small dogs that are allowed there on the off season. This hotel is Old and shabby. The junior suite we had was fairly large with a kitchenette. The kitchenette was terrible. Broken cabinets, obviously original to the hotel. The microwave was scary. The bathroom was clean nut had Old pink tile. The good thing about the room was the very comfortable beds. The parking was also not great. Far away from the entrance, the hotel is right across from the beach and close to stores. We might stay there again because I was not worried about the dogs ruining anything.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
304 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We used to stay at the resorts until the economy went bust. Tried this hotel about 2 yrs. Ago. It's clean, good sleeping beds and price is great. In summer parking is way in the back, but better than spending money at other hotels. Walk across street to beach and about 3 to 4 blocks from nightlife,great food and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txlnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariposa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hello.
I had the nice experiance to live there for couple of months...
Well Each day was a survivel.
Don't go there!
Nobody cares about the hygiene! There was mold in each room, around the memorial day many young people came and they left big mess like - pee on the carpet (few rooms) smoke weed and brake stuff.
Nobody cleans the pool (once in the month only) , there is no circulating in this pool.
Prices are overrated - they must play you to have a vacation there - they will play you for that,that you survived during your vacation!.
No hot water (always something broken)
The manager of the hotel is rude with guests who have complains.
I was like = okey there is a people who write bad stuff for this hotel because they are probably from the surrounding hotels or just spamers.... well I'm not one of them
THIS HOTEL SUCKS !

Room Tip: If you anyway wanna play this game and you go there... well take some rooms at the highest floors (m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prime_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

this place is awful. we stayed on the third floor and the entire floor including our room reaked of a mildew smell, it was hard to breathe in the room, and the bed i believe had bugs, because I woke up with bites. When i complained and did not want to stay for the remaining two nights i had paid for i received a hard time and was refused until i threatened to call the health department. I am currently waiting in the lobby for my refund because the "manager" is in a meetine even though he has taken 4 calls from the front desk about this problem. I feel i have been lied to continuously and one other thing they advertise they have wi-fi and they do not the only wi -fi available is in the lobby not the rooms.

Room Tip: do not choose a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebrock70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Myself and my partner had reservation for 7/28/2012 - 7/30/12. Checked into the hotel on Friday evening. Upon entering the hotel there was an smell of old furniture. Checked in any way. The room was horrable, there was king size bed in the room that looked as if it was 30 years old. All of the appliances in the room were very outdated. The sheets felt very ichy. Although you could smell the bleach on the sheets they felt awful. The entire hotel smelled. On Saturday morning around 6:00 a.m. we were awaken by a sewage odor. We went downstairs to ask what was that smell and they said they didn't know. At this point we were feed up and asked to be refunded our money for the next night stay. Do not waste your money and time staying at this resort. The only good feature is the beach is across the street. Pay a little more and stay at the Hilton Park Inn and Suites.

Room Tip: You can not see the beach from your hotel room.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank smah1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#17 of 29 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#19 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Property: Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head
Address: 36 S Forest Beach Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6246
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hilton Head
Hilton Head Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing