We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I do not take the time to write reviews until now.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I do not take the time to write reviews until now.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I just want to point out that others have said that there is no hot water.....well i have been told that a water heater is down....sounds to me like that is the excuse they tell people. We asked for towels....no new towels....at the cleaner....the pool.....dirty and had algea on the steps.....none of the furniture outside was able to be sat on because it was wrecked in some way....did i mention that this is in noooooooo way water front....u have to walk across the road and then down a path and then down another path...Its like almost a half mile....and its in the sand....totally sucked..only one lamp works so at night it ia a cave.....and the parking is laughable...good luck with that. ....i can look past alto but no hot water and ice cold water to rinse off in is unacceptable....never ever ever go to this place i cannot stress that enough.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    30
    38
    132
See reviews for
92
46
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our stay was less than great. Let's see where to start. The hot water tank broke when we came in on Friday. We left on Monday and it was never repaired. They didn't even offer or give a credit for the inconvenience of only having cold water. The stairway stank to hell with bags and bags and bags of trash lined up on the bottom floor against the wall. It stayed there for atleast 3 days and never moved. Nats and mosquitos inside the building probably from the trash. Iron with no ironing board. Dark stains in the carpet. Bathroom shower was dirty with white residue covering the tiles. Ants over the shower coming through holes in the ceiling above the shower. The tile in the shower had a bad cheap repair job with towels a totally different not even attempted to match color. Clean towels seemed scarce. The hallways stank. The pool area was unkept but the water wasn't nasty. It was just a less than great visit. Even for an $80 a night stay near the beach it was bad. Parking accomodations were sub par at best. You park along a long narrow space were lighting and space was limited the trees and bushes inthe area have outgrown and looked as if they hadn't been cared for in many seasons. The foliage will scratch your vehicle and the sap from the trees will eat your paint. I just think the staff should take more pride in the cleanliness of the facility and a hotel should have running hot water and clean towels with no bed bugs. My only positives are the food at the bar was ok and it is close to the beach. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO STAY. It was nasty just simply nasty. The only space kept clean and neat was the lobby.

Room Tip: Pick a better hotel early and be willing to pay a little more for a clean safe place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reviewgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUYTON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived to the hotel on Friday afternoon to find that hotel was without hot water. They had a sign on the counter stating that one of their two hot water heaters was out of service. Since it was Labor Day weekend and the chances of finding another hotel room available were slim to none, we decided to stay. At no time over the three days we had stayed there, had they got the hot water back up. The parking is at hotel is very limited. There were eight parking spots at the entrance to the hotel that have been overgrown and partially filled with mud from a recent rain. The reserved parking they had down the road wasn't much better. They had allowed foliage to overgrow into the parking spots.You parked there at rest of having the paint on your car being scratched by the foliage. The pool was small and not used much by the guest. It could of been vacuumed. The room was clean. The wallcovering and curtains were dated and worn. The television in the room had a remote control that didn't even operate it. We asked for another one from the front desk and it didn't work either. The bathroom had damaged tile in the bathtub were it appear a handicapped accessbile bar had been rippedfrom the wall and patched. The sink counter was being held up with two by fours. Housekeeping only made our beds after we requested them to. They had only left one wash cloth in the bathroom each time they they left towels. We had to request more wash clothes from the front desk. The first time we requested more towels and washclothes they said they didn't have any due to they have to take them offsite to be laundered. Also there are no telephones in the rooms either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you like cold showers, bed bugs, dirty conditions and rude customer service this the place for you. The motel is more rundown than on the picture. Absolutely nothing good about this hotel. Not good for people with kids seeking a good vacation. Just pay $20 extra a night and stay at a well know Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJanii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
328 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel 5 times. There seems to be problems. Last time a water leak and elevators were shut down. This time no hot water. Parking can be a challenge. Why do we go back? Good prices, across from beach, short walk to dining, shopping. Clean room. It's not a Westin and not $300 night. Hincheys bar restaurant is on first floor.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txlnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

First they didn't give us the room we had reservations for. We asked for the family room with 2 double beds and the kitchen instead the gave us a double bed with no kitchen. So they fixed that and gave us a king bed with a kitchen and fold out sofa, which is very springy. Balcony was very small not much room. You only get wifi signal in the lobby. Its hot in the lobby, elevator, and hallways but air condition works good in room. Pool is decent, the deepest part is 5 foot.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millspatty90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stay away from this place!! no towels, no hot water,the ac barley work, the pool is simply nasty!they lied about the hotel is on the beachfront, nothing about this place is on the beach,other families complain about bed bugs,this place is nasty! the pics on this site is twenty plus years ago, if you want to stay somewhere cheap and nasty, this is your place to be, i will never come here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shontae k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
254 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#23 of 28 in Hilton Head
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
#19 of 28 in Hilton Head
608 reviews
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#22 of 28 in Hilton Head
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head

Property: Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head
Address: 36 S Forest Beach Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6246
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hilton Head
Hilton Head Metropolitan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing