We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special Evening”
Review of The Studio

The Studio
Reserve with OpenTable
The Studio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Pope Avenue
Description: Entice Your Senses While You Dine. Innovative International Cuisine, Fine Art Gallery, Artists Creating at the Easel Tapas Tuesday & Wine Tasting Wednesday (Call for Details) Early Dining Discounts Patio Seating Private Dining Room Rated Top Restaurant in Hilton Head Wine Spectator Award of Excellence
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Special Evening”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I will start by admitting to have dined at the Studio at least 25 times the last 3 years times with each visit being a wonderful experience. We particularly enjoy the intimate and romantic feel of the main studio and the fine food prepared by owner chef Paul. This past Saturday night Armand DeMille of the Vogues was singing, playing guitar, and performed several of our Orbison, Elvis, and Eagles requests. We ordered Escargot Ala Maisonette, Crab & Vadalai Onion Bisque, Soup du Jour which was a wonderful Lentil soup, The Studio Salad, and Prime Filet Mignon cooked Pittsburgh style. We ordered wonderful red and white wine by the glass ... we were last to leave ... doesn't that say it all?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiltonheadbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioDining04, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Yes, that really does say it all! We couldn't be more honored to hear how much you've enjoyed your time with us. Thank you very much for making us one of your favorite restaurants on the Island. We'll see you soon!

Cheers,
Paul and Lunonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    87
    30
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol TN
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Meal”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The ambience is very intimate and romantic. The service is exceptional with two servers sharing the duties. We started with 2 large bowls of their soups, crab and onion bisque and kale and bean, both which were very good. My wife had salmon with a maple pecan glaze and I had the grouper with crab and asiago cheese topping. Can't say enough how great the food was. It was presented well and tasted delicious. This is not a family with kids restaurant but for a romantic, special occasion this sure fits the bill. A little hard to find but worth the hunt.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 30hotrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioDining04, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Worth the hunt, indeed! We're glad that you found us, and that you enjoyed every bite. There's nothing we love more than creating a special moment for couples, so we hope to see you again soon! Until then, thank you for your kind words.

All the best,
Paul and Lunonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great dinner, interesting atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Wonderful post Valentine's Day dinner at The Studio. I had an eggplant entree that was exceptional. I chose it because it sounded so interesting and different. I figured I could eat fish anywhere but could only get this dish here at The Studio. It did not disappoint. Wonderful flavors and beautiful presentation. My husband had local ship as a starter which was served on hummus with cucumber slices and fresh tortilla chips in a martini glass. Looked great and I believe it thought it tasted better than it looked. He had a filet mignon for dinner and was very pleased with the preparation. Loved our dinner, the atmosphere, and the service. We have been to The Studio before and will return.
Our minor suggestion would be to put a few plants or sculptures outside the front window. When you sit there you look out on an empty cement patio with spotlights shining on it, not particularly attractive - but, this is minor. Loved the artsy atmosphere inside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tennismama88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioDining04, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for joining us for your post-Valentine's Day celebration! We are delighted to hear how much you and your husband enjoyed your time with us. That Eggplant Special is a real treat! Thank you for sharing your kind words on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Cheers,
Paul and Lunonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“outstanding food”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Ate here for Valentine's day, given all of the good feedback on here. The restaurant is small and cozy. They had a live guitarist, and the owner's wife was sitting in the corner painting. Pretty cool atmosphere! the service was flawless. We were sitting near the kitchen area (which didn't bother us), and one of the waitresses came up and offered us another seat. We declined, but I thought that was very thoughtful. I had the boar ribs, and the gf had the filet mignon. Both were outstanding and worth the $30+ price. They also gave a rose to the ladies at the end of dinner. Outstanding experience overall.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank domer621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioDining04, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for joining us for Valentine's Day, Michael! We're thrilled to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed every bite—those boar ribs are simply too good to resist, after all! Thank you for taking the time to sing our praises. We hope to welcome both of you back again soon.

Cheers,
Paul and Lunonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very small but well put together”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. The food was wonderful and our server James was wonderful. The food did take a bit longer than I would have guessed it to. We waited 45 minutes to get our appetizer. Overall it was a wonderful evening and the food (once we got it) was wonderful. The restrooms could use some updating to bring them to the level of the rest of the establishment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELISABETH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioDining04, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
It was our pleasure to host your anniversary celebration! We apologize for the wait, but we are thrilled to hear that your dishes didn't disappoint. James is great, and he'll be so happy to hear that you felt at home in his company. Thanks for taking the time to review us, Elisabeth, and for your helpful suggestions. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Cheers,
Paul and Lunonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Studio also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing