We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner, interesting atmosphere.”
Review of The Studio

The Studio
Reserve with OpenTable
The Studio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 367 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Pope Avenue
Description: Entice Your Senses While You Dine. Innovative International Cuisine, Fine Art Gallery, Artists Creating at the Easel Tapas Tuesday & Wine Tasting Wednesday (Call for Details) Early Dining Discounts Patio Seating Private Dining Room Rated Top Restaurant in Hilton Head Wine Spectator Award of Excellence
St Augustine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great dinner, interesting atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Wonderful post Valentine's Day dinner at The Studio. I had an eggplant entree that was exceptional. I chose it because it sounded so interesting and different. I figured I could eat fish anywhere but could only get this dish here at The Studio. It did not disappoint. Wonderful flavors and beautiful presentation. My husband had local ship as a starter which was served on hummus with cucumber slices and fresh tortilla chips in a martini glass. Looked great and I believe it thought it tasted better than it looked. He had a filet mignon for dinner and was very pleased with the preparation. Loved our dinner, the atmosphere, and the service. We have been to The Studio before and will return.
Our minor suggestion would be to put a few plants or sculptures outside the front window. When you sit there you look out on an empty cement patio with spotlights shining on it, not particularly attractive - but, this is minor. Loved the artsy atmosphere inside.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tennismama88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioDining04, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for joining us for your post-Valentine's Day celebration! We are delighted to hear how much you and your husband enjoyed your time with us. That Eggplant Special is a real treat! Thank you for sharing your kind words on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Cheers,
Paul and Lunonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    84
    29
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“outstanding food”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Ate here for Valentine's day, given all of the good feedback on here. The restaurant is small and cozy. They had a live guitarist, and the owner's wife was sitting in the corner painting. Pretty cool atmosphere! the service was flawless. We were sitting near the kitchen area (which didn't bother us), and one of the waitresses came up and offered us another seat. We declined, but I thought that was very thoughtful. I had the boar ribs, and the gf had the filet mignon. Both were outstanding and worth the $30+ price. They also gave a rose to the ladies at the end of dinner. Outstanding experience overall.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank domer621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioDining04, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for joining us for Valentine's Day, Michael! We're thrilled to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed every bite—those boar ribs are simply too good to resist, after all! Thank you for taking the time to sing our praises. We hope to welcome both of you back again soon.

Cheers,
Paul and Lunonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very small but well put together”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. The food was wonderful and our server James was wonderful. The food did take a bit longer than I would have guessed it to. We waited 45 minutes to get our appetizer. Overall it was a wonderful evening and the food (once we got it) was wonderful. The restrooms could use some updating to bring them to the level of the rest of the establishment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELISABETH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioDining04, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
It was our pleasure to host your anniversary celebration! We apologize for the wait, but we are thrilled to hear that your dishes didn't disappoint. James is great, and he'll be so happy to hear that you felt at home in his company. Thanks for taking the time to review us, Elisabeth, and for your helpful suggestions. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Cheers,
Paul and Lunonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Another great New Year's Eve”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We went on New Year's Eve. The food was absolutely delicious. I got the escargo, my husband and son the clams and oyster rockerfeller for appetizers. I got the lamb shank and my son and husband got the wild boar ribs. We all got the bread pudding with banana ice cream and chocolate sauce. It was all delicious. There was a singer which did a good job playing requests for the crowd. Also, an artist was painting until around 9:45 or 10pm. We could not have asked for a better evening out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DETZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioDining04, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
It certainly was a fabulous New Year! Thank you for being a part of the celebration. We hope to have you back again next year!

Cheers,
Paul and Lunonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unique Small Setting with Wonderful Food”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This south island restaurant is tucked in an office park with windows facing Pope Ave. The restaurant decor is wrapped around a functional artist studio theme. The food is prepared mostly by the owner with attention to detail and quality ingredients. The small dinning room puts tables fairly close together and others conversations are unavoidable. There is live music during several evenings during the week. If you are looking for a very unique setting with great food, this is a place you will want to enjoy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wefurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StudioDining04, Owner at The Studio, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We couldn't have said it better! Thanks for taking the time to sing our praises. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm wishes,
Paul and Lunonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Studio also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing