We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant and chef in the southeast !”

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 367 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant and chef in the southeast !”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The food was delicious, the servers were the best I have seen, incredible desserts and wonderful ambiance.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,136
    161
    72
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal, wonderful service”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Loved everything about our meal, and our waiter, Finnie, he was amazing. We spent a week on the Island and waited for our last night, Friday, July 25th to have our special dinner at Michael Anthony's! We can't wait for next year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colleenjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Service and food were both outstanding! We asked for the earliest possibler reservation on the same day and were given 5:30. An early, discounted, menu was offered, with smaller portions, but we elected to order from the regular menu.My wife had a lobster ravioli and a pasta with meat sauce. I had one of the chefs specials - a 7 ounce veal fillet. All were prepared great and tasted wonderful. We were very curious about the deserts, almost too full, but at the suggestion of our server tried the 3 desert sampler OMG! Left completely satisfied. Btw almost forgot the appetizer, a great antipasto plate which I love and not enough Italian restaurants offer a plate with meats, cheeses, peppers and olives. And the wine selection was large and varied. We had glasses of generous pours. Will definitely return on our next trip to HH.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 676Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Italian on HHI!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This has been our 'last night on HHI' meal for the last 10 years or so, and it never fails to be a great one. You will get great housemade pasta, terrific specials - like a recent spaghetti with crab and vegetables that was outstanding - always a fresh fish entree, and excellent desserts. The bar is excellent and the wine list outstanding. This is not typical Italian - i.e. veal parm - but well thought out and prepared Italian food. It is more expensive than many of the places you can eat on HHI, but it is not a typical HHI experience either. If you want a great value, however, I would recommend their pre-6 PM fixed price dinner - this past weekend was $21.00 for a three course meal which features several choices of app, entree and dessert of slightly smaller sized portions - but I can say they were more than satisfying for me. Our family loves dining here and we will be back for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West chester
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, but expensive ! ”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Although the food was very good, the prices were unreasonable compared to the portions (Especially the starters). Everyone who worked there was very nice and helpful, but our waiter only came around once in a while and always seemed to be in a rush.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dkowalska2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing