We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing cooking demo!”

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 368 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing cooking demo!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I reserved spots for my daughter and myself at a cooking demo. It was my daughter's highlight of our week at Hilton Head. Chef Russell Keane prepared a three course organic "low country" meal for us which included fried calamari, lobster & shrimp succotash with collard greens, and cheesy grits with shrimp. The portions were very generous and all recipes were included. Highly recommend, especially if you have an interest in cooking or if you want something fun to do on a rainy day at the beach.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 766ljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,082
    154
    72
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the best meals ever!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great Italian food with lots of time for eating it! The wait staff is professional, helpful & knowledgeable with wine selections. We ate here twice during our 4 nights here; it's that good

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a great dinner there. We split the Veal Parm and still had enough for each of us to have another dinner. This place is a little pricey, and is not kid friendly. Would definitely go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Occidental2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Italian”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were recently in Hilton Head and asked the concierge for a restaurant recommendation, she raved about Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana. Having been to many restaurants in Hilton Head our expectations weren't very high, boy were we surprised. My wife had the Zuppa Toscana and Paillard di Polllo, I had the Insolata Braesola and the Involtini di Vitello. The food was magnificent and the service matched, our waiter, I believe his name is Kevin, was terrific. It doesn't end there - they have and offering of wines by the glass that was as interesting as I have ever experienced, I had the Picci Villa al Cortile Brunello di Montalcino 2006 - loved it.

If you visit Hilton Head Island this is a must.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Farrenjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
2 reviews
“Do not miss this restaurant!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We've been going to HHI for years, but somehow missed this restaurant! Everyone in our party of four had a different dishes (pasta with crab, halibut, lamb, pasta with sausage), and everyone raved. I had the calamari appetizer, and it was amazing. We shared the dessert sampling; it was wonderful. We had an Oregon pinot noir that was amazingly well priced. We'll be back again next year. We also want to go earlier to see the specialty market and the cooking school. The bar is charming. They prepare a good martini, and have a great selection of wines by the glass. The bartender was helpful and courteous, and the server at our table was patient and did not at all rush us through our meal even though the restaurant was busy. We simply couldn't find anything wrong.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing