We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody Mary's by Jeanene”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shipyard Golf Club

Shipyard Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shipyard Golf Club offers three nine hole courses, which can be played in three eighteen hole combinations. Each course has its own merits and difficulties, with 25 water hazards coming into play throughout the majority of the holes.Clipper Course: With plenty of sand and water hazards, the Clipper course may be the most difficult of the nines. This George W. Cobb design requires a good long game and a soft touch around the greens.Galleon Course: These original nine holes of Shipyard Golf Club meander through large oaks and tall pines. Accurate placement of approach shots into heavily guarded greens is necessary on the Galleon course.Brigantine Course:Alligators sun themselves along these scenic, water hazard filled nine holes of the Brigantine course. With slight dog-legs and well-placed bunkers, this course requires shot-making and a good short game.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Bloody Mary's by Jeanene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Do not miss this! Beautiful golf course only overshadowed by the beautiful bartender and her perfect Bloody Mary's. Friendly staff and perfect golf only added to the event. If you want a great day of golf, a perfect drink in hand and a gorgeous lady to serve them to you...go to Shipyard. Enjoy the golf and the sights!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank adam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Shipyard Golf Club, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We’re glad you enjoyed your round at Shipyard, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate the kind words regarding service and Bloody May’s. We hope to see you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    67
    23
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
133 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Needs groundskeeping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The course was hacked up a bit and the greens were a bit patchy. Service was excellent though and they had tees set up for the kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MapleLeaf1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Shipyard Golf Club, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Thank you for the kind words regarding the service you received, and glad you were able to enjoy our Family Tees that we have out during the summer. We are disappointed that our course conditions did not meet your expectations when you played this past summer. We have taken steps since you played to make great improvements. We hope you give us another chance on your next visit to experience improved conditions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecksville
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fine track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My favorite of the heritage courses (also including palmetto hall hills and cup, oyster reef, and port royal barony, planters row, and robbers row). Good amount of water offered solid vistas. Greens were exceptionally solid for December.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Golfbd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Shipyard Golf Club, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for playing at Shipyard during your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your round, and we appreciate the positive feedback on the condition of the greens. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We played here on "Black Friday". It was $59.50 for morning tee time and we had no discount or coupon, just rack rate. The course was just average. Layout was not bad, but the course was in worse condition than you would expect from resort area like HHI. Pin placements were on a lot of slopes. The green speeds were a little hard to adjust to. Not sure it is worth $59.50, maybe more like $40.00.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Played Clipper/Brigantine 18 today. Course had been over seeded, but was OK. Disappointed with starter. I was a single who he put with three other players. Since the other three had not arrived, I asked if I could go out by myself. He said that I would run up against a wall and would be waiting. So I waited about 25 minutes and went out with the other 3 player who were really good guys. Guess what. We were the first group out so there was no wall. As it stood, our foursome did play in less than 4 hours, but held up a twosome who lost patience after about 12 holes and skipped a hole and went by our group. There was no one behind them. Still looking for the wall.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrhooked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Shipyard Golf Club, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns and for allowing me to follow up over the phone. We do have a unique setup with 27 holes, and our starter wanted to make sure that you were not held up by our maintenance crew setting up the course or on the back nine with play just beginning their round. I appreciate you saying that you will be back, and we look forward to the opportunity to show you a better experience on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipyard Golf Club also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Shipyard Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing