We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coral Sands Resort”
Review of Coral Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coral Sands Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Syosset, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Coral Sands Resort”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This was our first trip to Hilton Head Island and this was one of best vacations ever. Relaxing, beautiful location will be going back many times. We had a 3 bedroom unit that overlooked the lagoon and pool. Our unit was clean and well kept, as were all the surrounding areas of the resort.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DannoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    152
    31
    9
    5
See reviews for
320
134
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

This location is a timeshare property. My family stayed here for our week long vacation in Hilton Head. First, the decor is absolutely dreadful. It's what I'd expect to see in a retirement home somewhere in Florida. I don't know who is responsible for decorating the place, but they are in serious need of upgrades.

The other problem concerns the bugs (roaches/Palmetto bugs) native to the area. I killed two in our unit during the week and we were careful not to leave any items laying around on the floor. The unit was clean, but in extreme temps like the kind you see in S.C. in August, it's almost unavoidable, but something to be aware of.

The good: The place had all of the amenities needed for a lengthy stay - washer/dryer, full kitchen, large bedrooms and bathrooms. Beds were comfortable. Overall, it was a very comfortable stay. Just avoid the clubhouse when the sales people are on staff because they are constantly trying to sell you something or get you to come to some meeting. Great fitness center, game room and high-speed internet round out the pluses.

Regarding the island - it is great for the golfing crowd, and young families. The island has very little night life, so unless you're traveling with a group and can bring the party back to your place, you'll be a bit bored in the evenings. Activities on the island also typically close around 5 or 6, so be prepared to create your own fun after that.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Guyfromfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My family and I stayed at Coral Sands Resorts the first week of August and was disappointed in the Accommodations. As mentioned in another review on this site, the set up of the Condo units were odd. The main issue was our master bedroom had no windows or outside light. On one side of the master bedroom were Sliding Glass Doors that went to another bedroom. This caused the master bedroom to be completely dark and when you woke up it was disorienting without any light coming in. I believe the 3rd bedroom is called a Carolina Room and was added on after the original construction. It appears that the sliders may have been the original outside wall.

The master bathroom also had some strange features. Instead of a bathroom door that swung open, the door was a sliding door that disappeared into the wall. The toilet in the master bath was in a separate very small narrow oblong room that gave you the impression you were in a closest under the stairs. The wallpapering of the bathroom was poorly installed and buckling. Also, the ceiling fan in the master bedroom when set on medium made a chirping noise that made it impossible to use that setting. Overall none of these things weren't insurmountable, but combined made for a annoying experience.

Upside: The Condo was spacious and comfortably fit our family.

Other issues we encountered: The dumpster at the end of the parking lot smelled horrible (it was very hot during our stay) and although I don't know the schedule I would have thought it should have been emptied every day to try to cut down on the smell. Fortunately, we were at the other end of the condos and I would have hated to be one of the units closer to the dumpster. The pool area was right outside our door and this limited our privacy. I thought the pool was way too small for the amount of people using it. (They are building a new one next to the clubhouse.) The grounds themselves were not anything distinctive.

Pool rules were posted regarding what can and can't be used in the pool (e.g. no large flotation devices), but that didn't stop a family from putting an large 3 person life raft into the pool. I don't know where security or personal monitoring the pool were.

Also, we were in a downstairs unit and the family above us seemed to have several children who frequently seem to be racing back and forth and which made the floor above us pound. Also, the property location faces the back of a shopping center which detracted from the property.

My family and I have stated in Hilton Head in the past and our prior experiences renting townhouses in Sea Pines Plantation was much better. There was much more privacy and the area (including the bike trails and tennis facilities) were significantly better.

The advantages I found with Coral Sands over Sea Pines was that it provided free WiFi, it was easier to get to the beach, and it was closer to shopping and dinning. Coral Sands might be a better fit for families with small children who wanted something that has the pool and restaurants very close by, but next time I would go with something that has more privacy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tmg543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed in a 3 bedroom at Coral Sands. The third bedroom is a "bedroom" off the main bedroom. It is separated by sliding wooden doors. The unit was very clean and had a nice kitchen and washer/dryer. The only complaint about the unit (which I read in another review) was that when the sliding doors were closed the master bedroom was in the dark unless you had the lights on. There are no windows in the main bedroom. I like some natural light in a bedroom so that I know at least if it is light out in the morning. Not a big problem, but after 7 nights it gets to you. The pool was pretty small and we only used it once. The workout room was in the main building, which is not easy to get to by walking. The beach was about a 10 - 12 minute easy walk. And as noted in other reviews, the Bi-lo is closer than the workout room to get to and had decent prices. They automatically gave you the member discount so you didn't need to get a card. Just ask when checking the groceries out. And…no pressure at all to attend a time share presentation. We were called, but told them we weren’t interested and weren’t bothered again. Overall, a very nice place for the money. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PnC_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

My husband and I just returned from spending a week at Coral Sands Resort. We had a 3-bdr, 2 bath condo that we had reserved when we thought my two sons and my daughter-in-law would be joining us on vacation. The condo was very nice, beautifully decordated, and exceptionally clean. The master bedroom had a very large private bathroom with a garden tub with jets, a huge glassed-in shower, and private toilet area. The patio was private, so we could sit out on the patio without feeling like our conversation would be overheard by our neighbors. We also never heard any noises through the walls from our neighbors, so the building must be insulated well. They had a very nice pool area with a hot tub and gas grills that were available for guests to use. All in all, I would definitely return to stay at Coral Sands again. The only thing we didn't like were several phone calls from the concierge trying to get us to come to a presentation on RCI membership options. We finally asked him to not call again which worked.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We had a 3 bedroom condo on the second floor overlooking the pool. The location couldn't have been better, especially since my 12 year old daughter loves to swim, so we could just sit on the balcony and watch her while she was in the pool. The unit was spacious, well maintained, and had everything we needed. One odd thing about the layout, however, was that the master bedroom was connected to the second bedroom by a sliding glass door, and had no windows. The only way to get any sunlight into the master bedroom was to open the curtains in front of the sliding glass door, to get the light from the windows in the second bedroom. Not very private for us, or for our 16 year old son who was in that room. Plus, he had quite a walk to get to the second bathroom from his room. The second bathroom was right next to the third bedroom, which was probably the nicest in the unit, with a queen bed, sofa, and lots of windows.

The staff was very helpful, especially when Delta lost our luggage and we had it delivered to the resort. It arrived before we did on check in day, and they kindly held it for us in a secure area until we checked in. They also had great recommendations for restaurants and things to do.

The resort had some wonderful activities, especially for my daughter. These included a lot of arts and crafts and some fun competitions by the pool. The clubhouse is not located right at the units, and you have to walk or bike through the grocery store parking lot in order to get to it, but it isn't very far. The gym is in the clubhouse, and it is a very good facility, with several ellipticals, bikes, and treadmills, as well as weight machines.

The grocery store (BiLo) is literally right in front of the complex, but is separated by trees so you don't really notice it. But it is great if you decide you need a late night snack or forgot something you needed for dinner. The complex has gas grills available by the pool, which were kept immaculately clean, and we used them several times. We enjoyed watching the turtles in the pond by the pool and grills as we were cooking.

The resort gives you information on bike rentals when you check in, and biking is a great way to get around the island. Hilton Head has probably the best bike paths I've ever seen, and all the drivers are very courteous to the bikers.

The resort also offers a free breakfast on Tuesday mornings, and they have folks from the various attractions on the island come and talk about their programs. The breakfast itself is fantastic, and it was really helpful and convenient for us to hear about all the things to do on the island. We ended up kayaking on Broad Creek, which was a blast and was a great family adventure (any time we can get our 16 year old to do anything with us is a small miracle!).

This was by far one of the best vacations we've ever been on, and we would love to go back to the Coral Sands.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TamikoBold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed at Coral Sands Resort during the month of March. It is a great place to stay.
We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit with everything that we needed. We took our bicycles and did a lot of biking and walking. As stated in an earlier review, the Bi-Low is right in front of the resort and you can obtain a visitor card while there that will save you some money. The resort is within 2 blocks of the ocean and there are a lot of restaurants within walking distance. There is an ice cream shop in Coligny Circle that has just about any flavor that you want and the people working there are very friendly. Also, Plantation Cafe is a great place for breakfast. While in Hilton Head, we ate at the Sea Shack which was very good. We would definitely stay at Coral Sands again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvs2read058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
284 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
6.2 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Resort

Property: Coral Sands Resort
Address: 66 Pope Ave, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4744
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Sands Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in a hotel when you can stay in a fully equipped villa with a washer & dryer, entertainment centers, TVs in bedrooms and living room, DVD players, all kitchens utensils and tableware. Each unit is professionally decorated and refurbished every year. Coral Sands Resort, a member of the Palmera Vacation Club, is situated perfectly in the heart of Hilton Head Island near Coligny Beach. Perhaps, the finest resort community along the Atlantic Coastline. Hilton Head Island boasts natural beauty along with a playground of outdoor activities. World renowned for it's golf and tennis, Hilton Head also offers a variety of water sports, miles of bike paths, wonderful restaurants and great shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coral Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Hotel Hilton Head
Coral Sands Resort Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing