We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As always our favorite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Grass Grille

Sea Grass Grille
Ranked #74 of 362 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“As always our favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Seagrass Grille again received the top rating for seafood restaurants on an island of many seafood establishments! The chef, Chad, prepares some wonderful daily specials of appetizers, entrees, and desserts. This last visit, my wife enjoyed the watermelon gazpacho - sweet and tangy. I devoured the always popular Carolina Tomato Pie. My entrée was a well prepared piece of Scottish salmon in glazed onions - a unique combination. My wife's veal was as usual outstanding. Every entrée is served with a fresh salad, and steamed veggies with great escalloped potatoes. The fresh peach cobbler was warm with a large scoop of ice cream. Wine list is great. Restaurant is small in intimate and only moderately noisy. Can't beat the wait staff, especially the owner, Cathy! Thanks Chad and Cathy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RBR41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    74
    48
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family traveled through 5 states of the Southeastern U.S. for two and half weeks this summer. Our meal at the Sea Grass Grille was the best meal we had on our trip! From the Carolina Tomato Pie appetizer to the Sea Grass Soggy Cake dessert and all the courses in between. It was the best!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
327 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Excellent menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Sea Grass Grill as a very interesting menu, marrying basic food groups with enticing and different coverings.

We went for lunch today. My wife had the Caesar Salad with chicken while I had the Asian Shrimp Salad. Both were plentiful and delicious. We unfortunately had no room for appetizers or dessert.

Some other enticing options: Grilled Tuna with a whipped wasabi mousse ($26); or, Upside Down Chicken Pot Pie ($9.50).

We truly enjoyed our meals and will visit again the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raudetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Although the ambiance is somewhat lacking, it's very pleasant. One goes here for the food. It's fresh and well-seasoned and prepared with reasonably sized servings. The fish is fresh as is everything we tried. It's not as expensive as Charlies but similar in quality.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best seafood on HHI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Over the past years, my wife and I have developed a list of best stops for dinner on HHI. We venture down there 4 weeks a year and gravitate toward places that we've chanced upon or that have been recommended to us. At or near the top of our list is Sea Grass Grille. Voted best seafood on the island for at least the past two years, you have got to have dinner here. If you're interested in heavily fried, standard fare, you WON'T find it here. Everything is prepared to a "T." Service is excellent. The little pearl onions served as a side are alone sufficient reason to try it. You can't miss.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank revpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Grass Grille also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sea Grass Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing