We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's SurfWatch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I am sure we paid too much money for our week (2 bedroom condo with full kitchen =$1200), but it was worth every penny. The small details make the difference. We woke up Christmas morning to chocolates hanging from our door handle. Yep, Marriott has my business every time. Outstanding family activities for all ages. LOVE this property...

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room, but all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judysheboygan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    91
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
329
113
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The surf watch was okay, but they were not willing to accommodate two families that wanted to be together. We started calling months before and continued to call every week. Yet they found it necessary to split us up from each other.

They sell timeshares here and I could never think of buying here because of the bad taste in my mouth. The property was fantastic (next to the beach), and the rooms fantastic. But the staff was horrible and did nothing to help us out.

This was our third time here and will definitely be our last. It's a shame because we used to love this place.

When we entered the room, there was cookies on the floor (not a dupe huge deal, but still unclean).

It was nice to have a three bedroom villa with tons of activities throughout the property. But this time, they were charging $3.00 for s'mores and other things. I say ad five dollars to my room rate and don't leave the impression that I'm being "nickel and dimed".

Room Tip: There are great ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank point5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Manager at Marriott's SurfWatch, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Surfwatch. We're concerned about the service problems you encountered while a guest at our resort. We strive to provide guests with a flawless service experience and we regret the inconvenience this caused you.

We would be happy to speak with you further about your visit and invite you to contact our Customer Care team at customer.care@vacationclub.com or by calling 800-860-9384. We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

When my Husband said to use our timeshare to visit the kids over Thanksgiving in Hilton Head Island, I said, No way would they have any openings. We used to live on the Island until this past summer and have moved to North Carolina. Not only did they have an opening, they got us close to the elevator due to medical problems. The unit was just beautiful and very updated and clean. Every day there was things going on for all ages, so we kept our Grandson for a few days. He enjoyed the salt-water pool and the crafts, and especially the Smores by the fire and the Brats night. We definitely will try to go back there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This property is very well done with lots to do, as noted by ScottK (he hit it all, so I won't repeat). We were a little concerned about the distance to the beach, but turned out to be no problem, especially if you went around the outside of the buildings, which was much shorter. In addition, the staff quickly responds if you want to take the buggy over or back. The grounds are beautiful, peaceful, and full of wonderful birds to watch, so you get the best of both worlds - the wildlife on the beach and the wildlife near the ponds, which are different, of course. The staff was very helpful, courteous, and upbeat. The units were very well appointed and the bed was very comfortable (a biggie for us). Kitchen was well-stocked. The pools and spas were heated, indoor and outdoor. Everything was first class.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountaingal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My family and I just stayed at Surfwatch for three nights over Thanksgiving, and the accommodations were very comfortable, the wildlife around the marshes was fabulous, and the amenities made the stay quite enjoyable.

The kitchen was well equipped, and the grounds had heated pools (indoor and out), movie theaters, pool tables, ping pong tables, and other amusement opportunities. Well-placed (and lit) grills as well as fire pits for nighttime seating were also nice things to have.

Staff was courteous, and the sales presentation MUCH less onerous than many timeshare spiels I have sat through.

The beach is fabulous, though it takes a walk of about 5 minutes to get there (never bothered us, as we simply observed a great blue heron on our way to the beach).

No complaints, well-located, and within a few miles of virtually all the nice restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottK1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here. Cannot describe value because we used our timeshare exchange but we ended up with a 3BR/3BA unit which was perfect for our party of 6, there is room for 12 to sleep comfortably. We came the week of thanksgiving and although the weather was not perfect there was plenty to do around the resort and on Hilton Head. Our building was very close to the indoor pool where we spent a lot of time and although many others were using the pool it did not seem crowded. We also played ping long which was always stocked well w paddles & balls. We used their putting green to work on putting before going out to the real courses. They also have shuffleboard & corn hole games. We were very close to the beau and could walk there easily. Beautiful walk across the marsh. Off resort we took a kayaking trip, horseback riding and trip into Sea Pines, all lovely. Staff here was very happy & friendly and met our needs easily!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Great oceanfront property. (actual ocean is a short boardwalk over marsh. We were in unit 5531. Building 55 floor 3 end unit 1. 3 bedroom 3 bath. Kitchen, living area. Great location to pretty much anywhere on island. 40 min. Drive to Savannah.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank srfrgrl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
755 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
7.2 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
3.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's SurfWatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's SurfWatch

Property: Marriott's SurfWatch
Address: 10 Surfwatch Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's SurfWatch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Marriott's SurfWatch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Surfwatch Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing