We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recently updated rooms....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's SurfWatch
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Recently updated rooms....”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

...and a few other new things since 2011. Rooms have been updated with the new Ritz Carlton design - glass coffee tables have been removed. New sofa and chairs, new bedding, new color scheme, stainless appliances (except refrigerators). Small putting green has been added next to the indoor pool - the marketplace has been downsized - no longer offering hot food. Guests now asked to wear a wrist-band on property. Front desk will now provide you with a bag of ice upon arrival (since they empty the ice machine when they clean the room). Just call them when you arrive. We love coming here - and look forward to our next trip to Hilton Head!

Room Tip: There is one building that is near the beach. Central buildings have views of one of the outdoor po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheaf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    90
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
319
110
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have been going here for years now as owners and we continue to love it. We stay in a 2 bedroom garden view unit. The property is spread out but there are free golf cart rides available to and from the beach. The staff is friendly, the units are clean and spacious. The outdoor pools can get pretty crowded in season so if that happens and you don't like crowds head down to the beach for awhile. It is a lovely section of beach. Watch for jelly fish in the summer.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tvlcompanions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We are owners and come here every year all the way from San Diego. We love it!!! The property is great, the staff is so nice and accomodating, and the beach can't be beat. If you're looking for a great place to take the family, this is it!

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor in the middle of one of the buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Commodore99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
452 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We live Surf Watch! The staff from General Manager, Case Soencer all the way down to the landscapers & maintenance crew are very friendly and courteous. The beds are very comfy which is a Marriot standard. The units are roomy and very clean. All of the pools are salt water and they are chilled to keep the pools refreshing during the summer months. This is the only resort on the island to offer cooled pools! No 93 degree warm like bath water pools here! The concierges are very knowledgeable and helpful, be I restaurants or activities. We look forward to our next visit!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is our 6th year staying here. The property gets better with each trip. The rooms are clean. And everyone has a great view of either the beach or their gardens.

There are 2 outdoor and 1 indoor pool. The beach is just off the main tourist area so it never gets crazy. Usually we bring our whole family - from grandparents to babies. Everyone enjoys their stay.

We have already booked our visi for next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcraig528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for one night in late June in a 2 bedroom unit. We needed an extra night in the area and used points to stay. We had stayed here maybe 5 years ago for a night and thought it was nice then. They have since upgraded the units and the are really quite lush! Well equipped, lots of flat screens, fabulous shower. Our unit was by the family pool, near the start of the boardwalk (tide mark?) The balcony overlooked the pool and had a view overlooking the marsh to the ocean. Gorgeous! Not sure if it was luck of the draw or my husbands platinum status but we were tickled pink with the location and view. The had a beautiful indoor pool which we did not use this trip, an ocean front pool and a larger family pool with a splash pad. A highlight for us was renting a cabana @ the oceanfront pool ($65 full day). They provided soft drinks and h2o in a large cooler w/ ice (to which you could add your own items), extra towels, and provided bar/waitress service with a discount on food and some beverages, including an extended 4 hour happy hour from 2-6. Each cabana had 2 interconnecting couches, coffee tables and a couple of lounges. Lots of space and great service. I would definately do this again, especially if I was with a large group. We did not partake in any activities but they had many scheduled. We checked out and they allowed us to stay and use the grounds the second day. We showered in the fitness center and that was really nice also. Everyone was super friendly and accomodating. Don't miss the peach jelly bellys at check-in the really are delicious!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

First timer to Hilton Head and we're not vacation club members of Marriott but I stay at a lot of Marriott properties. We were actually trying for Grand Ocean but it was booked. I don't think we sacrificed anything. We had an updated unit and it was a terrific room with ocean view. Just a short stroll across the boardwalk to the beach. Our unit was very well maintained with updated kitchens and bathrooms. Parking good if you only have one vehicle. I'd give it a 5 but the only thing was the location which was very good but not in the prime locations as some of the other resorts. Not a cheap stay either but it was worth it.

Room Tip: Units in the 56XX building are closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gtown2352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
729 reviews
5.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
7.2 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 29 in Hilton Head
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
3.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's SurfWatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's SurfWatch

Property: Marriott's SurfWatch
Address: 10 Surfwatch Way, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5336
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's SurfWatch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's SurfWatch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Surfwatch Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing