We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiddlers Cove Beach and Racquet Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fiddlers Cove Beach and Racquet Club
Save
You added Fiddlers Cove Beach and Racquet Club to your Saves list
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
250 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We have stayed twice at Fiddler's Cove Beach & Racquet Club over the past two years, most recently in June 2014 in Unit 13B, a two-bedroom, two-bathroom condo. We choose this unit this year after spending last year in one that was overlooking Folly Field Road and on the third floor.

While the first condo was not a bad experience, one I would have rated "very good" here, this year's was even better because of the location of the condo and its recent renovation. Building 13 is in the back of the complex, so there is no road traffic, and being on the first floor was nice for going to/from the beach every day.

The recent renovation was especially nice, as the kitchen had been upgraded along with the bathrooms, there was new furniture, carpet, etc., in the unit. It was about $50 more than the non-renovated unit we were in during 2013, but we felt it was well worth it. The level of cleanliness was excellent, and being on the first floor allowed us to lift of beach chairs, cart and sand toys over the balcony without tracking the sand through the house. It was also equipped with wonderful (very new, and higher end) beach chairs, a beach buggie/cart, umbrella, sand toys and ice chest.

Fiddler's Cove location is convenient to everything along William Hilton Parkway. You are 5-10 minutes from several grocery stores, pharmacy-type stores, restaurants and attractions. It is also about 10-12 minutes to Coligny and roughly the same from the gates of Sea Pines. It is not as close as some might want to those areas, but we liked it simply because of that. It was a sub-five minute walk to the beach down a short residential street and path through dunes, and the beach was fantastic. It was not overcrowded, there was a lifeguard nearby, and the sand and sea were wonderful. The fact that is not beachfront also knocked down the price slightly, but the walk was very easy even with a three-year old.

We used the main pool (there are two) on several occasions, and this was a great ammenity. It is large enough that there can be a lot of people in the pool without it feeling crowded, has a large shallow-end and moderate 6-foot area, and a large number of lounge chairs, umbrellas (plenty of shade) and chairs.

Overall, we did a lot of shopping for this second trip, and after comparing many locations all over the island, this was our clear-cut winner. We were very satisfied with our choice and will stay again!

Room Tip: Choose a unit that has been recently renovated as it makes a nice difference for a marginal uptick i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RyryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Center Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have stayed in this complex multiple times over the past 15 years. Nothing fancy, just clean, comfortable, two bedroom condos with community pools, hot tub, and many, clay tennis courts. Short walk to beach, or drive with metered parking. Grocery shopping nearby. Not really close to main attractions on the island, but if you're on the island, nothing is far away. Great base for visiting Savannah or Beaufort, SC, which is worthwhile. Rent bicycles. Miles of paved paths.

Room Tip: Read reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My favorite part is the walk to the beach, if you take Ghost Crab Way, you come to a trail that takes you through beautiful foliage, over a sand dune and then wow, you are at the ocean. The trail was well kept enough that we took our beach cart down the path with no trouble.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Gena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Loved this condo, 13C!! Clean with granite counter tops in kitchen, fully furnished. We rented bikes ahead of time, they were delivered and picked up, making it so easy to enjoy the bike trails. We loved riding on the beach, as you can't do that in Jersey. It has a security gait and code for the fence to the beach walk. My 10 year old nephew enjoyed the two well maintained pools. Really we just loved it! School was already in at the time for southerners, so we enjoyed less crowding everywhere. Would definitely recommend this two bedroom two bath condo. We just loved out stay here! So quiet and peaceful. No complaints whatsoever

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Mitzim06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in Fiddler cove Aug-17 until Aug-24. 2 Adults plus 2 Kids. It seems that this place has seen it best time years ago. The smaller pool is a no go and requires immediate repair. The large pool is OK but would also need maintenance.
The property seems gated but the guard seems not very sensitive. We very surprised that especially an the dark hours of the afternoon the gate was oen and no guard on duty. The result was a stolen bike that was locked to behind the apartment. This property has so many dark spots that the kids where scared to walk around theirselves. We stayed in the base floor and had a family above that was celebrating a parade all day round. Positive is the short walk to the beach.
We will not stay in this property again although the apartment itself was very nice at a reasonable rate. Apt. 13A. The owner of the apartment is not responsible for the property ;-)

Room Tip: Be careful and ask the owner about the size. We had a true 2 Bed+ 2 Bath but was rated as 3 Bed + 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Business_Traveler_EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Fiddlers Cove is not safe. I had my bike stollen and when I went to security they told me the cameras were not working. Be careful of your property it is not a true gated community. The guest can be load, the security guard does not have access to working cameras. The rental property owners will not return calls nor will the property manager also the Vacation Travel Club (VTC) I booked through was not willing to help. The local police also were of no use a report was filed. Stay away from Fiddler's Cove.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at Fiddlers Cove in June, 2013. When we checked in we were told it is a safe gated community with cameras on the property, we found out that it is not the case. One of our bikes was stollen we found out the security cameras were not working and the guard at the front gate was not at there station. The owner of the resort did not return phone calls and the Vacation Travel Club (VTC) that booked us this property wouldn't help to resolve the issue. Enjoyed Hilton Heaed but will not go back to Fiddlers Cove.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lora555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Resort
Ocean Palms Resort
#21 of 53 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Dunes Resort
Royal Dunes Resort
#10 of 53 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
0.6 mi away
Marriott's SurfWatch
Marriott's SurfWatch
#1 of 53 in Hilton Head
5.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiddlers Cove Beach and Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiddlers Cove Beach and Racquet Club

Property: Fiddlers Cove Beach and Racquet Club
Address: 45 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Fiddler’s Cove you’ll enjoy the beauty and romance of vacationing close to the beach. A short stroll and you'll enjoy the gentle ocean surf from Hilton Head’s widest and loveliest stretch of beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fiddlers Cove Beach And Racquet Club Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing