We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable condo in Hilton Head”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seawatch at the Island Club
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Overall, the complex was clean and well maintained. The furthest building in the complex is only a 2 minute walk to the beach. The pool is nice and includes a wading pool for small children. Our unit was clean...the furnishings were a little out of date but functional. The rate seemed very reasonable. Only drawback is that it really isn't convenient to walk to restaurants from the complex.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 89 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

This resort is in great condition. The grounds are beautifully kept/updated. The lagoon is great for the little kids, as is the playground area. Lots of grills everywhere (good ones). Our family of 5 had a wonderful time grilling out our dinner and eating on one of the picnic tables.

Next time we return to HHI we will be staying at the Island Club.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jdoz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We have owned here for approx 3 or 4 years now. We own in sea watch building 9 and really enjoy it. The staff is very friendly and that includes everyone from the gate keepers too landscapers, maintenance and front desk staff. It's an older resort but very well maintained. I think it was built in the 70's. if you are looking for a lot of fluff this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a timeshare at a great price, no pushy salesman, oh did I mention the approx 150 ft walk to ocean this will be the place for you. Whenever you are in the area go by to see Erin and she will take care of you. We own a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit in building 9 with great views of the court yard. We can walk from the patio to the ocean in less that 3 minutes. The web site is spmresorts.com.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank btru2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We booked through RCI and had never been to HH. Our condo was super nice, our boys loved the huge loft suite upstairs too. We had a slight view of the ocean and a wonderful view of the lagoon and pool. The pool was very nice, beach was outstanding. They had fishing poles to loan out and our boys loved fishing in the lagoon. Our family would stay at this resort in a heart beat again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

In 2009 my wife and I spent a glorious week at Seawatch, sharing a 3 br oceanfront villa on second floor. Everything was wonderful. This year we returned for two weeks. Our location was selected for us, and we were disappointed to learn that we would be on third floor, and in a 2br end unit... as far from the ocean as you can get at Seawatch. We had a lovely view of the lagoon, and could actually see and hear the distant ocean from our balcony railing. To the rear, we had an excellent view of the parking lot, tennis and basketball courts. Not what we had hoped for, but in the end, just fine... All the Island Club outdoor facilities are beautifully maintained, and we noted that they were enjoyed by many of the guests.. We loved our beach time. Three hundred and eleven steps from our front door to water's edge. Not too far, no too bad. We made this trip every day, sometimes twice, because a long walk on an uncrowded beach in 60 degree sunshine is our kind of heaven. Our villa was adequately maintained, but showed it's age here and there. The furnishings were generally clean and in good taste. I would have to say that the kitchen was our greatest disappointment. There was an older stove with coil- burner top, and an oven that took forever to pre-heat. There was an aging, over and under washer/dryer unit located right along side a rather scuffed-up refrigerator. Lots of room for improvement in this kitchen. Bottom line: We love Seawatch and we enjoyed our stay in spite of the unit location and villa shortcomings. We'll return again next year, hopefully, and wish for better, but always with the sure knowledge that Island Club is a great way to find the ocean, and enjoy the island.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Suitemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I booked unit 5402 before reading the review giving it a rating of 1. I was understandably anxious after I found the review, but we were pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The carpet has been replaced with good-quality carpet. (I have a crawling baby, so I was especially attentive to the state of the floor.) I noticed no unseemly smells, and the kitchen ceiling tiles looked good enough; maybe not brand-spanking-new, but I didn't worry about any of them falling out on my head. There were a few places on the furniture and fixtures that could be easily fixed (dark spots on the coffee table, burn marks on the lampshades), but all in all this was a good place to stay.

My family and I have stayed in five or six oceanfront condos on Hilton Head, and this was by far the best view of the ocean. We were the closest we've ever been, with nothing between our balcony and the ocean except sand dunes and about 10 feet of well-manicured grass.

The kids' pool is spectacular, with zero-entry, a mushroom, and several spouts and fountains. Our baby loved it! We were also pleased with the on-site bicycle rental, cornhole and ladderball games in the grass, nice grills in common areas (which were either well-maintained or purchased new every year, because they showed no signs of damage that comes from constant exposure to saltwater air), great playgrounds, and clay tennis courts.

Another perk of staying at the Island club is that it's secluded. Granted, we were there in September when most families aren't traveling, but we found the beach directly in front of the property to be sparsely populated. This was both a pro and a con - we couldn't easily ride bikes to dinner and shopping as we could when staying in more central areas like Sea Pines or Forest Beach, but it was worth it to feel a little more secluded. We would definitely go back to the Island Club.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank Bethy814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Beautiful inside and out. The grounds and landscaping are beautiful. Very convienient to the beach, a walkway most of the way. Beautiful lagoon beside condo, very relaxing. Very nice pool, the unit itself is very nice. Everything is very well kept.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
5.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
814 reviews
8.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
0.5 mi away
Hilton Head Island Beach & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seawatch at the Island Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawatch at the Island Club

Address: 85 Folly Field Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6902 (Formerly The Island Club of Hilton Head Seawatch)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: $203 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seawatch at the Island Club 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Seawatch at the Island Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Club Of Hilton Head Seawatch Hotel Hilton Head
Island Club Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing