We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its not a secret on Saturday!”
Review of Sunset Grille

Sunset Grille
Ranked #65 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: As Linda and her culinary team work their magic creating soups, daily specials and awesome desserts, Hugh and his well trained wait staff cater to the needs of the guest. To accompany the delicious meals offered at Sunset Grille, Hugh has put together an extensive wine list that is well rounded and well priced. If wine is not your drink of choice you can choose from a large selection of spirits or craft beers. Sunset Grille is a casual fine dining restaurant established in 1996 by Linda and Hugh Lockman. Whether you are dining at lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch you will not be disappointed. Sunset Grille has been consistently recognized as one of Hilton Head Islands best kept secrets and was voted by Garden & Gun magazine to have one of the BEST Bloody Mary's in the south. With virtually no advertising it has remained one of the most popular dining destinations on the Island. Along with the fantastic food, great beverage list and attentive service Sunset Grille offers one of the best sunset and water views on Hilton Head Island. Located at the Hilton Head Harbor Marina on the Intracoastal Waterway and overlooking Pinckney Island Wildlife Refuge, it is a view not to be missed!
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Its not a secret on Saturday!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a great place for Breakfast. Just get there early it fills up quickly and many people like to talk for a while on the pleasant porch before starting their day. The staff is friendly and quick. The food is excellent. try it its great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    95
    32
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a good place for handicapped people”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Food is wonderful but lots of stairs to navigate for handicapped customers.Notwheelchair accessible. Toilet facilities are back to an outside access and not on the same floor as dining area.faciity is Not incompliane wth the ADA. Great views a happy,busy place, good drinks and wineselection.

Helpful?
2 Thank WLR3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch, Fantastic Setting, Great Waitress!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We're staying at the Hilton Head RV Resort & Marina and I had read the reviews on TA about the restaurant. Since we arrived early and knew reservations for dinner would be tough, we opted for lunch. It was a great choice!

My husband had the salmon special and it was incredible - fresh grilled salmon (the waitress told him she saw the salmon arrive earlier that day), on a bed of grits, wilted spinach and drizzled with wasabi. I had the Fried Green Tomato BLT which was fried green tomatoes, country ham and homemade pimento cheese on a hoagie w/sirarcha aioli - fabulous!

The restaurant was packed due to two large parties (one including Rob Mondavi from Mondavi Wineries) but the staff handled the large volume very well.

As others have said, it wouldn't be an easy find if you're not at the RV park or familiar with Hilton Head, but it's totally worth seeking out!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Shrimp and Grits EVER!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have a little place in Hilton Head and go whenever we can. I always enjoy eating out and there are lots of good restaurants. But by far and away, Sunset Grille is my very favorite. Very picturesque dining, interesting menu, although I always seem to order the shrimp and grits. The service is excellent as well and there's a very good wine list, many available by the glass. If I had to choose a last dinner it would be their shrimp and grits. SO GOOD!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well Kept Secret”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

If you are in Hilton Head you MUST make this restaurant a choice and make reservations or you won't get in. Very small but classy, exquisite food and service. We will definitely return on our next trip and make reservations before we leave home!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JSK-MVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grille also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sunset Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing