We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view and intimate setting.”
Review of Sunset Grille

Sunset Grille
Ranked #58 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: As Linda and her culinary team work their magic creating soups, daily specials and awesome desserts, Hugh and his well trained wait staff cater to the needs of the guest. To accompany the delicious meals offered at Sunset Grille, Hugh has put together an extensive wine list that is well rounded and well priced. If wine is not your drink of choice you can choose from a large selection of spirits or craft beers. Sunset Grille is a casual fine dining restaurant established in 1996 by Linda and Hugh Lockman. Whether you are dining at lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch you will not be disappointed. Sunset Grille has been consistently recognized as one of Hilton Head Islands best kept secrets and was voted by Garden & Gun magazine to have one of the BEST Bloody Mary's in the south. With virtually no advertising it has remained one of the most popular dining destinations on the Island. Along with the fantastic food, great beverage list and attentive service Sunset Grille offers one of the best sunset and water views on Hilton Head Island. Located at the Hilton Head Harbor Marina on the Intracoastal Waterway and overlooking Pinckney Island Wildlife Refuge, it is a view not to be missed!
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely view and intimate setting.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The food was good. The French onion soups was very good. I had the shrimp and grits. It doesn't plate well, but it tasted great. It is a casual place, but the service was exceptional and the staff was very friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    94
    29
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stairs and gross bathroom”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

View-beautiful, food - limited & pricey, service-great.
Note- the restaurant is located in an RV Resort. You must walk up a flight of stairs to restaurant and walk down to use bathroom located at the pool. Yes, the pool bathroom, yuck!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tararich93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food as wonderful as the view!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We tried the Sunset Grille for the first time this year on our annual Hilton Head vacation, and it is now my absolute favorite place to eat here! It has an intimate atmosphere with gorgeous views, especially if you are there at sunset (as the name implies).

The food was wonderful. The Champagne salad had wonderful flavor, and the Smoked Salmon was luscious! I also thought the cheddar grits which accompanied the salmon were very good and complimented the fish quite well. Even my husband, who claims not to like grits, decided perhaps he really does like grits as he finished my meal once I'd gotten full.

Two of our party had the swordfish special, with a wonderful butter pecan sauce. One of them declared it the best swordfish he'd ever eaten. We also really enjoyed the fresh, warm ciabatta bread.

We were so full we declined dessert, but the offerings sounded very good.

The service was friendly, helpful, and prompt, without being intrusive. The servers helped us with menu selections, kept our water glasses filled, and made sure we had everything we needed, while allowing us plenty of time to visit and enjoy the view.

Sunset Grille will be a place we definitely return for a special dinner. Since our kids are currently picky eaters who like everything plain, we'll reserve this for "date night", at least until they're a little more adventurous eaters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sbmolloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We found this restaurant by word of mouth from a local resident. We were told it would be difficult to find. It was, but so well worth the search! We went for a lateish lunch on a weekday. We were seated right away and I was immediately impressed with the lovely view and the staff. There were two ladies out front who worked well together to make things run smoothly. The menu was well rounded and the food delicious. Even though a large party of twelve were seated right after us, we were never made to feel forgotten. Another highlight was getting to see dolphins! We will definitely return and tell others about Sunset Grille!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marybeth128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, SC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Too much garlic”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had been thinking about trying this place for a while since we are local and it always seems to get good reviews. Decided on the spur of the moment to go there last night. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable and helpful. The food was good but a bit overpriced. My scallops tasted great but I still fell like my breath would scare away vampires. Glad we tried it but probably won't go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grille also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sunset Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing