We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service with incomparable view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunset Grille

Sunset Grille
Ranked #65 of 365 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: As Linda and her culinary team work their magic creating soups, daily specials and awesome desserts, Hugh and his well trained wait staff cater to the needs of the guest. To accompany the delicious meals offered at Sunset Grille, Hugh has put together an extensive wine list that is well rounded and well priced. If wine is not your drink of choice you can choose from a large selection of spirits or craft beers. Sunset Grille is a casual fine dining restaurant established in 1996 by Linda and Hugh Lockman. Whether you are dining at lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch you will not be disappointed. Sunset Grille has been consistently recognized as one of Hilton Head Islands best kept secrets and was voted by Garden & Gun magazine to have one of the BEST Bloody Mary's in the south. With virtually no advertising it has remained one of the most popular dining destinations on the Island. Along with the fantastic food, great beverage list and attentive service Sunset Grille offers one of the best sunset and water views on Hilton Head Island. Located at the Hilton Head Harbor Marina on the Intracoastal Waterway and overlooking Pinckney Island Wildlife Refuge, it is a view not to be missed!
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service with incomparable view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

After a few years absence we returned to Sunset Grille and were once again impressed from beginning to end. Appetizers--salad and fried oysters--were oustanding. The signature entree--shrimp and grits--also a winner. And the shared dessert also great. Very nice wine list. Friendly and efficient service plus the incomparable sunset view makes for a great evening!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susieq624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    94
    29
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem for sure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Hearing about this place from local residents we decided to call and find out more. The man on the phone said that they were more about quality than quantity and their menu was not very large. They also didn't have a kids menu and in fact small children wouldn't be comfortable. Now, some people may be put off by a comment like this but we found it to be refreshing and indicative of a place that understands what it is trying to accomplish. All I can say is that every table in this small restaurant has a great view of the sunset & harbor and the food is outstanding. They accommodated our 8 & 7 year olds by simply offering half portions of a nicely diverse menu. Service was efficient and friendly and, although we didn't select them, they offered two interesting freshly caught seafood special selections. The information we had read about the Sunset Grille described it as a hidden gem and I could not agree more. We felt like we were let in on a locals only secret! Without a doubt it was the best shrimp and grits I have ever had.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rickenbockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lots of great reviews and we see why”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

We are long-term RV travelers. First, this restaurant is within a campground/marina facility. That is to be ignored. Read the other reviews. We are currently camping here. It is one of the best campgrounds we have been in since the 1970's. Sites are privately owned and rented out to travelers when not occupied by the owner.

Parking is available at the restaurant but the second-service folks might have to hunt around waiting for the first-service folks to leave, Space is also available on the street outside the park if you cannot wait and are willing to walk 100 yards to the restaurant

Read other reviews about the size and location of the facility.

Now for the food. We really enjoyed our dinners. $120 with tax and tip, no wine, one mixed drink, two appetizers, two entrees and a shared dessert.. My wife had the highly recommended shrimp and grits and I had the special sea bass of the day. We were both very pleased. I had a mixed sausage plate to start (Wild Boar/Shiraz sausage and rabbit/tarragon sausage), and it was great. My wife generally dislikes sausage however she liked this combo. Not greasy with good taste My wife had fried oysters in a white cheddar sauce and liked it a lot too. If she were to make the sauce she would have made it a little weaker but this is not a complaint and to some might be a plus.

A few tables available as we were leaving but then I found three cars waiting for my parking space - make reservations, you will be happy you did.

The physical location is a bit farther back than shown on Google maps/Trip adviser. It is actually within the campground, back around to the right after the main office camper check-in building and next to the tennis courts. Actually it is on the waterfront.

Large portions, good view, high but reasonable prices for the quality/quantity, friendly service, no loud kids and very convenient for folks traveling in a boat or RV for sure.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelJKKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
“Surprisingly excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

We were a bit hesitant to try a place over a laundromat but are so glad we did! Every bite was excellent and the ambiance is charming. Don't miss the smoky poblano Bloody Mary, the smoked grilled salmon and grits, the braised lamb or the pork loin. If berry trifle is on the menu for dessert, don't hesitate ... get it! Service was perfect, the view relaxing. Only negative: the downstairs bathrooms, shared with the swimming pool facilities, weren't well-tended. We'll be back!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OhioKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“High Class Low Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

We've eaten here a couple of times, most recently last May with another couple. The food is simply excellent. The atmosphere is sophisticated and classy, while being still a bit casual. Not a large restaurant. Wonderful water views. Expensive, as you would expect for such a nice place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_n_Kathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grille also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sunset Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing