We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best as carry out.”
Review of The Sea Shack

The Sea Shack
Ranked #46 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best as carry out.”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Not knowing what we were getting into, we went to this restaurant with a family of 7. Bad move. It's tiny and cramped inside. The seafood is good, and the mac and cheese was some of the best I've had. The staff is rude. We had our baby with us and I wanted to have a seat while my husband ordered our food at the counter, but a tall man told us we couldn't be seated until our order was placed. He said, "Didn't you read the signs? We've been doing it like this for 15 years and we're not going to change it now." I brushed it off at the time, but I don't appreciate the lack of hospitality. Overall, I would eat the food again but only if I took it to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tapfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    489
    194
    86
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Appearances are deceiving, this place is one of our favorites !”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Sea Shack looks like just that, a shack ! lol But the food is consistently good and the seafood is always fresh. Southern Living thought it was good enough to feature in their magazine last month as one of South Carolina's BEST ! I recommend the peel and eat shrimp, they are huge and seasoned to perfection. And the jerk snapper is absolutely to die for, not a thing fishy about it and the seasoning is spot on . All of the sides are wonderful, but we especially enjoy the fried okra, cole slaw and they have a black bean chutney that I would walk 10 miles in a rain storm to get....it sells out fast ! There is always a wait and for good reason, it is good food at a very fair price, portions are generous. The average wait time is usually around 30 min. but it goes fast and we always end up striking up a conversation with someone making it pleasant. This is where the locals eat and is the islands best kept secret !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“More like Crap Shack”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

There was a line up at the door. Luckily my boyfriend and I were already inside because if you were outside you were not allowed to come in until the the line inside was served and seated. The lady at the cash wasn't the nicest but I not rude enough for us to leave. I got a combo with conch and calamari that came with two sides. The side options were much, so I went with fries and grits.

The conch was not conch, it was deep fried batter balls with a piece of conch the size of a dime, if any. The calamari was average.

I would suggest any restaurant over this place... yuck!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jusc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not disappointed on return trip”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Fast, friendly service, good value, casual dining, unpretentious - just focus on local seafood. Order at register, quick service. Fried popcorn shrimp and Soft Shelled crabs were delicious; cole slaw on the sweet side (as we like it), fries average. Go early for quick seating and a fun experience

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank spengle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
202 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Just Good Food”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

You go for the food and the homey atmosphere. It's not fancy but the food is very tasty. Both times we ate there was for lunch. The first time we ate inside, the second time outside. Friendly staff. We both had the grilled Talapia sandwich the first time, then on the second visit my wife had the grilled Talapia plate (without the bread) and I had the sandwich again. All for about $32.
For what you get, it's a good value otherwise we wouldn't have gone back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sea Shack also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Sea Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing