We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and delicious experience”

Sage Room Restaurant Bar
Ranked #7 of 367 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Cozy and delicious experience”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Small restaurant with a chef's "table" that's actually a bar overlooking the food prep area. Fun to sit there although it can get a bit warm.The potato leek soup topped with lump crab is delicious, and the Sage Room Benedict is one of the best beef dishes I've ever tried - filet mignon topped with a poached egg and hollandaise sauce served with mashed potatoes and string beans. Get it butterflied because it is enough for two meals. A good wine list too. Other menu items have also been consistently good. A bit pricey, so this is usually a special occasion spot.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ASC19512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    88
    28
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and good atmosphere”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

It’s a great restaurant for couple and friends. The food and service is wonderful. The food is always carefully prepared and the service is outstanding. I love the almond crusted tuna and coco Mahi. You can also watch the staff create their specialties before your eyes if you like. Highly recommend it. The restaurant is hidden, a little bit hard to find.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Hill, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb Sea Bass”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Okay, so now I know why the comments on the difficulty of finding the place! It is tucked in behind the ther buildings at Pope Ave, so go into the lot, pass by the first set of buildings ( I can't remember what's there) and go left, not to be detered by the fenced off area, go left ofthat and behind even though it seems like your going to the dumpster. Really, it is worht it. Very stmospheric and pleasant inside. We sat what they call "the chef's table" which was fun, but be aware you sit up at a bar, so if hightop seats are hard for you, sit at a table. Sitting where we could watch and engage with the very friendly chefs really did add to the experience though. None of them had been culinary schools trained, which was rather impressive given the high quality food and may perhaps account for the unique spin on some of the dishes. They are all totally attentive to their craft, accomodating to special requests and proud enough to specifically ask if their portion of your meal was done to your liking.
The sea bass steak was the best I have ever had. The green beans were not exceptional tough and I would have prefered a more creative side than rice as well, but the pea pod martini is outrageously well seasoned (pea pods in a martini glass) and my husband's potato leek soup with crab was heavenly. We will absolutely go back there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pellverm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, good service - welcome not so great”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had booked a table a few days ahead and this was not our first visit. To start with, we stood at the entrance desk for a few minutes before we were noticed. Then a young woman came over, no welcome extended, no smile and asked for our name. Said she couldn't find the reservation. She looked around and then said, as we could see that the restaurant was very busy and we would have to wait without giving us an estimate as to how long the wait could be. Then, a minute or two later, while we were debating whether to cut our losses and leave, she miraculously found our reservation and showed us to a table. No apology extended. That was the bad news.

The good news is that the service was attentive, friendly and professional and the food was excellent. Even though Hilton Head Island is very quiet in the winter, and most restaurants do not require reservations, The Sage Room was busy and noisy so we were pleased not to be seated in the main room but rather in a smaller side area where, cleverly, there is a large flat screen TV on which you can watch the meals being prepared. Pretty much like being at the chef's table but without the interaction another review mentioned.

Leek and potato soup with lump crabmeat was excellent as was angel hair pasta with shrimp. My wife had the Snow Pea Martini and a fillet steak which she said were both very good.

As we will be back on the island in the summer, we will make a return visit and hope that the hostess does a little better than on this occasion.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Belsizedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our friends who live permanently in Hilton Head feel this is their favorite restaurant on the island, so when we were recently visiting them, of course we choose Sage Room. It did not disappoint. Kathy, one of the owners, took excellent care of us directing us to several special for that day. They have a very good selection of wine in an affordable price range. The restaurant is beautifully decorated creating a relaxing but elegant ambiance. This restaurant will go into our rotation for each time we come to Hilton Head.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Room Restaurant Bar also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sage Room Restaurant Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing