We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Stay at The Cottages, Shipyard Plantation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spinnaker at Shipyard
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A Great Stay at The Cottages, Shipyard Plantation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I spent the last week of November at the Spinnaker resorts in the Shipyard Plantation, The Cottages. This was an RCI timeshare trade. The plantation is beautiful. We were nestled near the back in a park-like setting surrounded with greenery and trees of Live Oaks, tall pines and palms dripping with Spanish moss.

We had no problem with checkin. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The property is very quiet and more so this time of year as it is low season. We had a lovely 3 bedroom condo which was the end unit of a group of three units. We were situated near a quiet small pool and hot tub. We could sit on our back deck and enjoy the lovely surroundings although in high time it might be noisier beside the pool. At this time we had it all to ourselves. There are lagoons also throughout but didn’t see any alligators although they are there and probably hibernating. This is a nice time of year as there are no crowds anywhere. Temperatures were cool which ranged between 14 and 18 C each day or low 60’s F. the week we were there. The sun shone most of the time except for two days of overcast skies.

The condo itself is very large with an upstairs. Two bedrooms are upstairs and one main bedroom downstairs on main level. There is a diningroom/livingroom with full kitchen. Each bedroom has its own ensuite bathroom and these are quite large. The unit was also very clean.
We liked the condo which is fully stocked with kitchen supplies, dishes, linens, toiletries and soaps to get you started. I love everything about the property except that the unit is outdated - furniture and bathroom fixtures. It does have a DVD player and a CD player, one flat screen tv in livingroom but the bedroom TV’s are older. Needs to have the tv’s upgraded as well. There is free WiFi in the unit which was nice. There is also a washer/dryer in the unit which works well.

The property has paved bike trails which meander for miles on the island. We rented bikes from The Bike Doctor which were delivered and waiting for us when we arrived. The bike rental people also pick the bikes up when you leave so it is not a hassle at all. We enjoyed biking through the woods and over to the beach at Coligny Plaza. There is a lovely new boardwalk there with public access with changerooms and showers, hanging swings from pergolas, rocking chairs which are all surrounded with wispy grasses and palms. It is so pretty to sit and relax and watch the ocean from afar. This is also a WiFi hotspot.

At Spinnaker there is also a large heated outdoor pool beside the main activity centre as well as a large hot tub. This looked very inviting and clean. We did not make it over there though as we used the one near us where we could just slip outside our door to access. They also provide pool towels. They do have excursions and activities throughout the week but we didn't have time to participate. We mostly did our own exploring.

Hilton Head’s beaches are phenomenal. The beach is very wide and expansive especially during low tide. The beaches are great for riding bikes on and beachcombing. The sand is powdery but packed where the tide comes and goes. I even had the good fortune of finding a shark’s tooth.

All in all a very lovely stay and we wouldn’t hesitate to go back to not only enjoy the many lovely resorts which are all nestled in the greenery of Hilton Head but also to enjoy the beauty of the area itself – the beaches, wildlife, boat excursions, shopping, great restaurants, etc.
It was especially pretty this time of year with Christmas decorations popping up everywhere.

Room Tip: We traded through our RCI timeshare so we didn't really have a choice as to which unit we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shar0nOntari0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Easy and entertaining check in with Dick! After reading some of the reviews we were pleasantly surprised how well maintained this complex is maintained inside the units and all of the grounds.. The maintenance people were fantastic. We had a light bulb out in the living room and they promptly delivered one to our door. Then the garbage disposal died the day before Thanksgiving and bam they came right over and installed a new one, even asking would it be convenient to do it now?? What service! Even tho these units are older, the upgrades they have done are financially smart ones...adding granite counter-tops in kitchen and all baths, new furniture and flat screen TV's in living room and both bedrooms, very nice! Yes the cabinets are older but in good shape.Having a washer / dryer was very helpful! The deck off the living area is very private and large.We cooked Thanksgiving dinner without any problem in our unit for 6 people and had a terrific meal there! My hubby played golf several days and loved the golf course on site , the clubhouse and scheduling tee times were easy! We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We were in the 100 block unit 107 which was an end unit overlooking the 7th fairway. Very light and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjm386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just finished a great week in Hilton Head. The best place to instantly unwind and relax from all the pressures of work and life. Our unit was very nice and spacious. Some maintenance issues that need attention but nothing major. Our unit faced the golf course and we had a great view from our deck. A 15 minute walk to the ocean was something we did a lot during the week. We had unit 104 and it was very clean when we checked in. Staff was nice at check in and processed us very quickly so we could get to our unit. We arrived on a timeshare exchange and have been in Shipyard plantation several times previous but our first time at this resort. Some furniture could be updated at some point to really make this a perfect unit. We enjoyed the 2 levels with the bedrooms upstairs. Weather was perfect during our stay and we can't wait to return to Hilton Head, and hopefully stay at Spinnaker on a future exchange.

Room Tip: Unit 104 had perfect view of the 7th fairway and we never felt the bugs when sitting on the deck. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canuck43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at Spinnaker at Shipyard, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks canuck43! Glad you had a great time...beautiful views and a walk to the beach each day! What more could you want! Please join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were immediately impressed with the cleanliness and size of the two-bedroom unit. The kitchen was well stocked. Everything was new and updated. The free use of two bikes stored at the unit was a nice touch. The grounds are well kept. It was a very peaceful, relaxing vacation for us. We would gladly stay there again. We love Hilton Head Island!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ansensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at Spinnaker at Shipyard, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you Ansensei for your kind review! The units are quite large and spacious, aren't they! and we are pleased you took advantage of the bikes too! Thanks for staying with Hilton Head Accommodations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for a week. You can walk or bike to pool. The beach you can bike or walk to also. The unit comes with two bikes and then we rented a bike and baby trailer. You can bike to restaurants and shopping. Love the bike trails. They have no baby cribs you have to rent or bring your own. Has three tvs and one DVD player. They give you free DVD rentals. We stayed in 441 and woke up to the alligator right outside our steps after a night storm. While biking around saw the other alligators in various lagoons. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at Spinnaker at Shipyard, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
We at Hilton Head Accommodations are so pleased you enjoyed the free DVD rentals and the free bikes! The alligator was a bonus last week - lots of guests were talking about him/her :). Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdsville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My sister in law picked this resort. At first we were a little worried because of how busy the area was but it turned out great. the rooms were big and the bathrooms were awesome each had a shower and seperate jacuzzi tub very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennisheather, Public Relations Manager at Spinnaker at Shipyard, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Rebecca - Thank you for your review of Spinnaker at Shipyard....we are so glad you enjoyed your vacation. Yes, with it's proximity to the beach and tennis and free golf, the area is busy, but I'm glad you found your week pleasant! Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very nice resort, stayed close enough to walk/bike to the pool. Very helpful staff! Unit was very clean and roomy. Has a nice view of a lagoon/pond with a fountain and its own alligator. Watched our kids closely due to the alligator warnings. Did not have batteries in our remotes and the staff quickly fixed. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
1.0 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
1.4 mi away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinnaker at Shipyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinnaker at Shipyard

Property: Spinnaker at Shipyard
Address: 10 Barcelona Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6306
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spinnaker at Shipyard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious NON-SMOKING villas feature:sleeping maximum of 6 peoplefree daily Greens Fees * for up to 4 daily at Shipyard Golf Clubdaily tennis* at Van Der Meer Racquet Clubtwo free bicyclesfree wireless internet and free local and long distance callson-site pool and tennis courtsliving room features 36" screen cable television/DVD, stereo system, sleeper sofa, half bath and large picture windows dining room that seats 6 peoplelarge, well-equipped kitchen with granite countertops and breakfast counterlarge private decks for outside dining with great lagoon and golf views .full size washer and dryerking size bed, high ceilings and ceiling fan, cable television/DVD player and window seat in master bedroomgranite countertops, jetted tub, glass shower stall, high ceilings with skylights and double vanity in the master bath second bedroom has two twin beds, cable television/DVD player and private bath with tub/showersupervised children’s activities in season and pool party with live entertainment* Free Greens Fees and tennis at Van Der Meer Racquet Club are available to Hilton Head Accommodations rental guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spinnaker at Shipyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker At Shipyard Hotel Hilton Head
Spinnaker Shipyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing