We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and adequate ,but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carolina Club by Spinnaker Resorts
US
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Clean and adequate ,but”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We shared a 3 br condo with others. (1) the unit had 3 bathrooms - but a hairdryer in only 1 (really?); (2) the bed pillows were hard to sleep on (and I don't usually care) and the towels are ehhh. // Generally clean inside - deck had chairs/table - but so filled with leaves and pollen was not usable// Also - the description online talks about their health club - they don't tell you it is driving distance from the units and they charge a fee to use (really?) // the Shipyard Plantation is pretty well situated - but again - its a drive to get to the beach if you want to use it.
Served the purpose - but would not recommend to those wanting easy access to a beach or fitness facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank xenonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spinnakermanager, Manager at Carolina Club by Spinnaker Resorts, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We apologize that your stay at Carolina Club did not meet your expectations. We strive to help make vacations memorable and to exceed your expectations. We take your feedback very seriously and would look forward to your return in the future - so that we may provide you with an exceptional vacation experience. Please contact Kathy or Lori at 843-785-4881 so we may personally assist in reserving your future vacation getaways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent Christmas week at Carolina Club. The week went by so quickly we could not believe it. Lots to do, even in off-season. Two bicycles come with the unit. There are numerous bike paths and we explored different ones each day. One takes you to the beach where you walk your bike along a short boardwalk onto the beach and then you can ride for miles in either direction. The sand is hard-packed. Try Sea Pines Plantation ($5.00 entry for the day) where there are some shops, a lighthouse, harbour, and the Salty Dog for lunch. Inexpensive and great food. An Italian restaurant, Cazzo, was 5 minutes along Wm Hilton Pkway from the resort. It was excellent. We had a two bedroom unit. Lots of room for a family. Pictures on Spinnaker site are not good. They make it look like the unit is two levels when actually there is an upper unit and a lower unit. We had the upper. If we had known this we would have asked for the lower because there were a lot of steps involved for the upper unit and we are seniors. Downstairs was a young couple. Master bedroom is huge with ensuite bathroom with jacuzzi. Second bedroom also has a bathroom off it. Kitchen was well thought out with everything you need to cook and lots of counterspace. Recycling and garbage bins by the kitchen. You took them to a large bin only one unit over when full. Very quiet place with lots of trees. Easy to get lost in there so keep your map in your car. It was too cool to use the outdoor pool and we didn't participate in any of the planned activities but they did have a lot we could have joined. Lots of golf courses around. Grocery stores nearby. Publix caters to tourists by offering any buy 1, get 1 free specials as a buy 1 at half price. $1.25 every time you want to cross the bridge is a pain. There is a way around it if you look at your map but it is a slower route. We took a day trip to Savannah. Only around 1 hour away. We took the on/off trolley tour and learned a lot of Savannah history. Wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower unit if you have a problem with stairs. Otherwise the upper units would be my choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paddy2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here on a RCI exchange. What a nice place! Excellent location, amenities and accommodations. Would definitely stay here again. Spacious rooms well equipped with Jacuzzi in master bath. Bicycles included. Great resort!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kmg320_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We had a coupon from the timeshare and stayed in a two bedroom. It was clean, well appointed and very comfortable. The surroundings are quiet and lovely on the golf course. Our Master bedroom was huge and our grown daughter was able to fly in to Hilton Head airport and join us. It was nice that she had her own bedroom with her own bath. Kitchen is wonderfully stocked and the Spinnaker company was top notch.
The rental comes with two bicycles which we had alot of fun riding around. The beach is lovely. The best places we found to eat were Catch 22 on New Orleans plaza and The Jazz Club. Plenty of local supermarkets, Publix, the Piggly Wiggly. Lots of shopping. Even Walgreens sells some pretty good souveniers. We took Rt 17 to Boone Plantation in Chaleston and another day was spent in Savannah on a hop on hop off tour. It was a great get away vacation. we loved it and will return!

Room Tip: The are all good at the Carolina club...two and three bedroom villas in Shipyard Plantation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cmfairygodmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We have a timeshare there and have gone every summer for over 12 years. We normally stay in a 3 bedroom 2 story condo. Its very spacies and has alot of great qulites. The master bedroom was a good size and very spacies. It had a walk-in shower and jakuzze bathtub. The kids room had two fair sized twin beds. Its great for familys with teenagers or children. They have 2 pools that are very conventet to your condo or cabin. The kids would go to the pool everyday for at least 3 hours then we would rent bikes and go for a ride on the trail or even the beach. They even had a club house that was also very convenent to your condo or cabin. Inside it has a work out room and game room. When I wanted alone time but couldent leave the kids alone. I went and worked out and let the kids play in the game room. You can fully trust them being alone beacause they are only a door away. The kids never get tired of it and niether do we. I stronger suggest you make this your next family vacation

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mar-mar02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed in a two bedroom, 2 bath condo at the Carolina Club in Hilton Head with three other adult extended family members. The facility was very nice and clean, not posh. My cousin and her husband, who actually owned a time share there, got the master bedroom. It was spacious and the bathroom was huge, with double sinks, a walk in shower, and a whirlpool tub. The extra bedroom had two comfortable twin beds. There was ample living space, a well equipped kitchen (except for the SLOW icemaker) and a really nice covered deck overlooking the golf course. Two nice bikes came complimentary with the unit, and there was outside storage.

The area was lush and really fun to ride bikes around. The restaurants we went to could not be beat for good seafood. Thanks to my cousin, who had been there many times, we skipped the bad places and ate at really good places. We ate at Crazy Crab at the Lighthouse area, the Old Oyster Factory (fantastic specials and great atmosphere on the marsh), Steamer Seafood (huge choices of beer) and my favorite, Hudson's, which was on a dock looking out over shrimp boats (the seagulls, egrets and great grey herons were tame and came up to the people on the dock, which I had never seen before)--very casual but excellent food.

The biggest drawback for this location, however, was its distance from the beach. There was no ocean view at all. If you wanted to take your vehicle to load all your beach stuff, it was about a two mile circuitous drive to the parking lot. If you walked or rode your bike, minus beach stuff, there was a nice paved trail that took about 10-15 minutes. We ended up having some drive with the stuff and some ride or walk. However, the beach itself was very nice in that part of Hilton Head, with little debris and nice sand. There are no shells, however. There were no waves to speak of, and you can walk a ways out into the water with it only being up to your waist. If you like waves and deeper water, this is not the beach for you.

We didn't play golf, so I can't give any input on the golf.

We had a great, relaxing vacation with lots of exercise. It just depends on what you are going for.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank buildingmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed a week in a 2-story, three BR, 3.5 bath unit on the golf course and were pleased with the space, free wireless internet, helpful staff, no sales pitch, thoughtful amenities including two bicycles and 3-way bulbs in lamps strong enough to ready by! Very clean, well-maintained and up-to-date.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank melmar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
284 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waterside by Spinnaker Resorts
6.3 mi away
Bluewater Resort and Marina
Bluewater Resort and Marina
#10 of 52 in Hilton Head
128 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ocean Palms Resort
Ocean Palms Resort
#29 of 52 in Hilton Head
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Club by Spinnaker Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Club by Spinnaker Resorts

Property: Carolina Club by Spinnaker Resorts
Address: 35 Deallyon Ave, Executive Park Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6235
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These villas provide quiet seclusion amid azaleas and magnolias and they back onto Galleon Golf course in Shipyard Plantation. The resort is self-contained with pool and tennis courts, and the townhomes contain all the comforts of home. Carolina Club is just a short walk or bike ride from 12 miles of ivory beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Carolina Club by Spinnaker Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Club Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing