We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning - they may not let you enter!”
Review of Sea Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea Pines Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We are traveling around the country, and we carry Kayaks on our car. They will not let you enter their gated resort if you have them on top of your car! The rudest gate attendant ever said, "the members will have your car towed" if you go in here. We had a golf tee time in 30 minutes, no place to just drop them off, so we were forced to cancel the time (We also had another time for a few days later we canceled.).
We were treated so rudely, that we had to post this. Because of this stupid rule and the rude gate attendant, it cost this resort and the golf courses here at least $750; 3 rounds of golf at about $400, food, souvenirs and drinks would have been another $300-400. We happily went to another course that morning, The Golden Bear GC at Hilton Head and had a perfect experience; great staff, great value, and a very nice course.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Sea Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We sincerely regret that you encountered this experience, as we pride ourselves in unparalleled and exemplary customer service at The Sea Pines Resort.

The Sea Pines Resort does not manage and operate the gate to the community; the gate is managed by the property owners association.

However, we do our utmost to ensure that all guests checking-in to The Sea Pines Resort, and enjoying the resort’s amenities and activities, encounter a seamless arrival. Guests staying at The Inn at Harbour Town, or in one of the resort’s homes and villas, receive complimentary gate passes.

We encourage all guests of The Sea Pines Resort to contact us directly should they encounter any issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 281 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have been coming to HHI for about 10 years now. It took us a little trial and error to figure out the best area to stay. We feel Sea Pines has the best selection of houses and villas to rent. In December it is very relaxing and sparsely populated, which leads to no wait golf on the famous Harbourtown Links as well as the resorts other courses. Tennis, swimming, shopping, and great food also readily available within the gates. All of
our dealings with Sea Pines staff has been positive, as well as all the residences rented through them have been in perfect condition. If you want tranquility, luxury, and amazing views, look no further!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cledoc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Sea Pines is a regular stop for us. We get a villa instead of a small hotel room. Lots of activities, we ride bikes on great trails. Beautiful beach, ride the horses. Great shopping, golf, tennis, and dining
Definitely a Family resort, they are now adding a new beach club and golf clubhouse.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jbsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We recently spent a few days in Sea Pines Resort over the Thanksgiving Holiday. The staff and accommodations were 2nd to none. The resort is beautiful and definitely 1st class in every aspect. Do yourself and your family a favor, stay at Sea Pines and you'll be forever grateful you did!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I would recommend a family vacation at Sea Pines. We spent a week on the resort only left to shop for groceries. The whole resort is accessible by bike, and really pleasant to ride around. The beach is quite wide, except during high tide, when it can feel like you are packed like a sardine next to your fellow travelers. We rented a house with a pool and would swim at the beach and then swim at the pool. We also brought kayaks and spent some time exploring the estuaries. We even saw a manatee. This is a very desirable place to stay for families.

Room Tip: We rented a house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arfilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have twice taken advantage of late summer deals for Sea Pines and have loved both trips. Each time we got the same condo (we specifically requested the unit we stayed in last year); we love the condo option -- you can do laundry, cook, have space to spread out, etc. Our condo has a pool, but not all have them, so,double check if that is important to you. Our deal also comes w/ bikes. It is so much fun to ride bikes at Sea Pines. The bike paths are beautiful and it's so level that you can ride for hours w/o getting tired. Sea Pines is like summer camp for families. There are so many things to do and the beach is lovely. The golfer in our family says the courses are decent. It is fun just to walk the different "neighborhoods" of Sea Pines. We don't eat many meals at the Sea Pines restaurants and when we do, we get lunch. Lunch fare is far superior to the evening food. There are so many good restaurants on Hilton Head, that you don't want to limit yourself to Sea Pines.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Huntinghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great resort. Clean. Friendly staff. Surpassed my expectations. Very guest focused. They will do anything, instantly to help you. Lots to do. Great golfing close by. Bicycle rentals are excellent. Make sure you get a bike and enjoy the island riding. Definitely will come back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mbdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
1.3 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.4 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#14 of 28 in Hilton Head
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
901 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.7 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Pines Resort

Address: 32 Greenwood Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4510
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: $150 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Pines Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Pines Resort is a popular 5,000-acre oceanfront vacation destination on Hilton Head Island, SC. The highly acclaimed resort featuring The Inn & Club at Harbour Town, the island's only Forbes Four Star hotel; Harbour Town Yacht Basin; three championship golf courses; world-class tennis; superb dining and shopping; five miles of pristine beach; a forest preserve; a 15-mile network of leisure paths; watersports; Eco-Adventures and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Sea Pines Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing