We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good”
Review of Steamers Seafood Company - CLOSED

Steamers Seafood Company
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We went with the hopes of having a good seafood dinner, however that went down the drain as they had a very limited menu. We ordered corn fritters which was very good. After approximately 45 minutes of waiting we questioned our waiter if there was a problem with our order. He brings out part of the order which had been sitting there and was only Luke warm. One person in our party of four still had not received their salad (how hard or long can it take to make a salad). The manager did apologize and adjust the bill. This was not a question of being busy as we were the
Only ones in the restaurant at the time. So consequently our dinner was a true disappointment.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 3wheelGoldwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    248
    129
    53
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dayton
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We went here hoping to get some good shrimp along the coast, but we left very disappointed. When we got there around 3:30 on a Sunday afternoon,there was only one other couple in the restaurant. We ordered appetizers which came out very quickly, then ordered our meal. After waiting 45 minutes, we asked the waiter that took over our table where our food was, and after checking his computer, we saw him run towards the kitchen area and out came two of the 3 orders which had been sitting back there for 40 minutes. The buns were soggy on the sandwiches, the French fries were luke warm, and one order not even done. They did bring us new fries which ended up to be half done, but by this time we were so disgusted we told them not to remake the sandwiches. The final order came out about 10 minutes after the other cold orders. They DID adjust our bill and apologized, but I will NEVER return here and would not recommend it. The menu for winter is VERY limited and the shrimp was extremely pricey compared to other places in the area, that's why we opted for sandwiches in the firstplace.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank goldwingtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious food and live music”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

One thing I love about this place is that I know they employ a lot of people from KENTUCKY. I had been to Steamers in 2010 for NYE and had a blast because it's so close to the bars. The food is delicious, I love seafood... you have to have it when you're in Hilton Head. My favorite part was that when we were there this time, there was live music out on the patio. Service was amazing as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharleeDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good place in need of a shot in the arm.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We've typically stopped by here annually during HH vacations. They've got a great location. But this time we were disappointed. The service was underwhelming, the food (we love oysters) only so/so. Sure they have lots of bottled beers, but how about some drafts? I think they need to decide whether they want to be a great casual, down by the sea, sea food restaurant or just another tourist place.

This most recent experience, makes me want to check out other options,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yum Yum”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Great seafood. Tried this on a recommendation and couldn't be more pleased. Tons of speciality beers that I should have tried. Something for another time.

Helpful?
Thank adhunt9305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steamers Seafood Company also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing