We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”

The Crazy Crab Jarvis Creek
Ranked #36 of 364 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $33
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Crazy Crab provides a spectacular waterfront dining experience overlooking beautiful Jarvis Creek. Our menu is derived from Low Country recipes, and each entree is individually prepared to order. Our Alaskan Snow Crab Legs are the best on the island - winning local awards for multiple years. We provide entertainment for the whole family with an onsite playground, the largest salt water fish tank on Hilton Head, live music and crab races during the summer, and a perfect view of breathtaking Low Country sunsets. We have both indoor and outdoor seating on our expansive deck and are pet friendly. The Crazy Crab at Jarvis Creek is perfect for your rehearsal dinner or private party. During non-peak times of the year, a part of the restaurant can be curtained-off for your private event, seating up to 80 individuals. The covered outside deck area can seat almost 100 guests with an outdoor bar area and options for private oyster roasts or Low Country boils. Come visit us and see why we have been a local favorite for over 30 years!
Seymour, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very dependable food, service, indoor or outdoor seating, and reasonable prices. Really good lowcountry view of Jarvis Creek and the marsh, especially during sunsets. Convenient hours being open for lunch through dinner with good parking. We have been eating at this location predating the current, larger building that was built after the original building burned in a fire.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,046
    503
    230
    77
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The food was wonderful, the location lovely, and the décor fun, but it was the service that made this restaurant so memorable. I wish I could remember the young lady's name who waited on us as she was amazing - one of the best waitresses EVER. She was incredibly understanding of us having our toddler, offering to bring him crackers while he waited, then, when his patience was lost, coming to our rescue without us having to ask, to box up our meals, add extra hushpuppies and butter to our boxes, and boxing up our desserts beautifully - even proudly showing them off to us. She was attentive, pleasant, and kind. We wish we could bring her to every restaurant. What a gem.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food, great service. Great for families!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The food was excellent and came out quickly and hot. Scott was our server and could not have been better. Beware of the cats that wander around the outside seating area if you are not a cat lover or have allergies! A great family restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisaleuchte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okahumpka
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“very dissappointed this trip”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have been visiting this place for 6 years since we bought on Hilton Head Island and enjoy coming here, we brought the family this year and was very dissapppointed with the service (RUTH) and the food. I had the blackened Mahi, which I remember in the past was quite a good piece, this time it was very small and overcooked, ( waitress was very scarce) The low country boil was more sausage then anything and it seemed like it was very overcooked, had to throw that away. Everyones dinner was just OK, don't think we will be visiting them again anytime soon. The prices went up and the portions went down. SO SORRY for this to have happened. The service was aweful, Ruth hardly came by at all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobbinJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
augusta
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“STRAY DIRTY POSSESSED CATS”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

if you love nothing but fried food and stray dirty cats this is the place for you. Not only do you get stray cats running through your feet as you snack on over cooked hush puppies, but you also get the "wonderful" view and sour fish smell of the surrounding marsh. If for some reason you actually decide to come here, make sure you get a seat inside, but watch out for the extremely rude hostesses.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crazy Crab Jarvis Creek also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Crazy Crab Jarvis Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing