We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfasts and terrific selection of vegetables at lunch”

Plantation Cafe And Deli
Ranked #100 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts and terrific selection of vegetables at lunch”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Probably best know for breakfasts, we had lunch today and were pretty impressed with the vast array of vegetables so three of us had vegetable plates (four choices for $7, I believe) and the other person had pot roast and three vegetables. Stewed corn, fried okra, collards, salad, squash and onions, macaroni, cooked apples, terrific! Oh, they throw in a bisquit, (it's in the south you know).
The service was fine, the crowd upscale, the prices very reasonable. Try it, just don't expect fancy, just stick to the bones good food. Bob Ross

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic N, Owner at Plantation Cafe And Deli, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank You for dining with us at The Plantation Cafe. I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and appreciate the nice comments. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Sincerely,
Vic Neeley
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    150
    40
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

They have a great breakfast. All in our party of 6 were pleased. We tried to get to their early breakfast but never got up early enough to attend. Great service, we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Gerfman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic N, Owner at Plantation Cafe And Deli, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for dining with us at the Plantation Cafe. We appreciate your business and hope to serve you again soon.
Sincerely,
Vic Neeley
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Should have went somewhere else”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was recommended to us for breakfast, but we were disappointed by our meal here. We had a reasonable wait of about 10 minutes for a table. Our server was slow, forgetful, but polite.

Our food: coffee okay, bacon undercooked, hash browns greasy, crab cake (for recommended crab cake eggs benedict) of low quality. Pancakes--excellent, light and fluffy, but syrup was of such a low quality that it took away from the lovely pancake. Wheat bread, cheap--should have stuck with the biscuit! Lower quality ingredients really make a difference.

Not a horrible meal at all, but not a wonderful one either. A good option for a cheap breakfast as long as you are not expecting too much.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Momsterof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Really great food and service”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The title of the review says it all. This rather typical appearing cafe is home to some really great cafe' and deli food and some really wonderful homestyle friendly Hilton Head Island service. The Shecrab soup is a must and ranks amongst the best on the Island.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldergent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Only had breakfast there”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had a very good breakfast here. Good selection and tasty food. Service was fair and we didn't care for the coffee.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank chiefj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plantation Cafe And Deli also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Plantation Cafe And Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing