We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salty Dog Cafe

Salty Dog Cafe
Ranked #71 of 362 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Salty Dog Cafe - Outside bar open LATE NIGHT. An island tradition since 1987 and everyone's favorite for fresh seafood, tempting beverages, live music and kid's entertainment. Picturesque dining and unforgettable fun served daily on the docks.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good location and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Friday night dinner.
Very busy and expected it would be and high noise level. Not a complaint, just an observation.
Expected that. Might try another night in the week.
Ate inside due to it being cool out.

Wife had shrimp and grit. Good but not the best she has had.
I had mahi-mahi. Good and liked au gratin potatoes.

As to two complaints I saw posted.
1) complaint about smell at low tide. The brochure on the Salty Dog has an article on that.
Said some like the earthy smell. Also said to come at high tide and 7 p.m. On a full moon is highest it will be. Was true tonight.

Would have seated ourselves outside if not so cool. We could have taken in live music performed
Luke __?____. Forgot last name. Was good and wife is a singer, so I take her word for it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rallybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,023
    968
    507
    147
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
260 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Service, Atmosphere - Worth Stopping for a Bite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Late on a sunny afternoon in early March 2014, my wife and I had dinner at the Salty Dog Café on South Beach, Hilton Head Island SC. At the recommendation of our friendly server, my wife ordered the Fresh Catch, which was grilled wahoo smothered in a tomato-onion-olive-caper sauce; I ordered the Castaway, a shrimp and scallops combination. The wahoo was full of flavor, particularly with the savory accompaniment, but the meat was chewy, suggesting the fish had been on the heat too long. The shrimp and scallops were grilled perfectly and had not lost their delicate flavor due to having their flavor blasted to smithereens by overdosing with Old Bay or some such seasoning. With non-alcoholic beverages and a generous tip, our bill came to about $70. We’d be happy to return to the Salty Dog someday.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeezersOnTheGo-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lived up to the high expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Sat outside and relaxed with a nice lunch. She-crab soup was wonderful; entrees were great, there is nothing to dislike here. Perfect place to kick back relax and enjoy the atmosphere. The entertainer that was outside singing was pretty good- he sang a mix of older and current songs. Would definitely return for lunch or dinner.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 335debraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We always go for the atmosphere but... ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Stick to the outside area. The restaurant food is over priced and overrated. Service is usually very slow and hit or miss with quality. The scene outside is way more fun and you will save a lot of money and a long wait time.

Helpful?
Thank Bourbon_Brandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We usually make our way to The Salty Dog cafe while visiting Hilton Head. The food is good, the views and atmosphere are great. Surrounded by neat little shops, great for spending an afternoon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TJK39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty Dog Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Salty Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing