We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun place”
Review of Salty Dog Cafe

Salty Dog Cafe
Ranked #63 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The Salty Dog Cafe - Outside bar open LATE NIGHT. An island tradition since 1987 and everyone's favorite for fresh seafood, tempting beverages, live music and kid's entertainment. Picturesque dining and unforgettable fun served daily on the docks.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fun place”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a popular spot for lunch and dinner - be prepared to wait. Great food, great service and lovely location. Some very nice shops for souvenirs and Salty Dog t-shirts.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,176
    1,082
    555
    161
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Average Tourist Food”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

How many 20somethings does it take to assign a table at 2PM on a weekday? Well, today it took four. This is usually the first sign that you've entered "tourist hell". Assigned a table away from the water view, that I had requested, I asked for one of two empty ones by the water. Well that upset the 20somethings and you would think that I was asking for a free lunch instead. I was told that the empty tables were "spoken for", which was hard to believe at a time past the busy lunch time & in a not overly busy restaurant. As an aside, I observed this repeated again when another couple moved inside from the breezy deck & this time the "keeper of the seats" mouthed some negative remark after seating the couple. How rude! You "entitled ones" are the service staff!
Obviously that didn't start things well, but we ordered the Shrimp Salad wrap and the Boss Hog sandwich. The Shrimp Salad came plated as a Chicken wrap while my Boss Hog pulled pork came on a toasted Pretzel roll, very unique. The Chicken wrap was replaced as a Shrimp Salad wrap eventually; my wife declared it OK, nothing special. My Pulled Pork was good quality wise, but had little taste for all of it's good ingredients.
All in all, average at best, but at least not a total tourist trap!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrDale14424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, nice scenery”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Loved the specialty drinks, hush puppies with honey butter were great. In a neat area with small shops and a boardwalk.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peacelovegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“dinner with jake”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

we enjoyed another trip to the salty dog, and was not disappointed. the food and service was very good. it was just before the season, so wasn't too crowded. it is interesting to hear the tale of jake the dog ,even though we had heard it before.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelbydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Food/Great View”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a popular spot and we waited a bit, even on a winter Thursday night. They have an outdoor fire and bar that helped us pass the time. The view is great and we really enjoyed all the dog pictures in the lobby. Service was great and the food was mostly fantastic. The home made rolls we were served were to die for. I had island style shrimp with pineapple salsa. Yummy! My husband had enormous crab cakes that were chock full of crab and almost no breading. Try the Salty Dog microbrew--a good accompaniment to the seafood. I would skip the she crab soup. It was almost pasty thick and not flavorful. Service was really good--I recommend is as a good tourist spot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty Dog Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Salty Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing