We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good combination of atmosphere and food”

The Crazy Crab Harbour Town
Ranked #104 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery
Description: A Spectacular Waterfront Dining Experience Overlooking Hilton Head Island's Famous Harbour Town Marina The Crazy Crab menu is derived from Lowcountry recipes, and each entree is individually prepared to order. The Alaskan Snow Crab Legs are the best on the Island - winning local awards for multiple years. There is plenty of family entertainment just outside the front door with the Harbour Town Lighthouse, a massive playground, live music in the summer, and amazing views of Calibogue Sound. The Crazy Crab bar provides a nice cozy atmosphere to relax after a round of golf at one of the prestigious Sea Pines golf courses. Come visit and see why The Crazy Crab has been a local favorite for over 30 years!
Columbus, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A good combination of atmosphere and food”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Harbour Town is a destination in itself. Lots of small interesting shops, yachts in the basin, a lighthouse, and sometimes live music. The catch is that unless you are staying in Harbour Town, you may have to pay a fee to enter the property.

The restaurant features a nautical theme and many tables are fashioned from, or good replicas of, wooden cargo hatches. The menu has a great variety of selections from beef to seafood.

Everything we have had at the restaurant is good, just not exceptional. In addition, other restaurants with less atmosphere have the same items for as much as 50% less (e.g., peel and eat shrimp).

Service is friendly, but not intrusive. The meals arrived in a timely fashion. We will continue to go for the entire dining experience, not just the food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GreenLakerGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    508
    409
    160
    114
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We ate there for lunch and I ordered the fish sandwich. It was cooked perfectly not over done like at many places. I always enjoy eating here they do a good job!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank se s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location does not trump Service, Service, Service”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Crazy Crab at Harbour Town enjoys a HUGE amount of foot traffic, owing to it's location at the marina and near the lighthouse. This constant stream of humanity means many customers for the restaurant, and this has obviously led to a need to move people through the restaurant quickly. I have eaten here many times before and knew to expect a typical touristy seafood restaurant. However, customers should be treated with respect as there are many other options to spend our dollars on Hilton Head. The food is OK but my most recent experience left me feeling like a number, or a cow in a herd. The front of the house was run by teenagers and the whole feeling we got was that we were an inconvenience to the staff. We attempted to be seated at 8:00 pm in a sparsely occupied restaurant on a Monday night. The restaurant did not close until 9:00 pm. After several minutes of being ignored by our waitstaff---never did find out who it was---we left.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSkipperNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great food, service quick”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We all had grouper sandwich meal and it was great value for money.

Typical family restaurant set up inside but ok for lunch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had been by the Crazy Crab dozens of times, but finally decided to give it a try after a morning boat ride. We were very pleasantly surprised. The fish & chips were outstanding, while my wife had a blackened grouper sandwich that was her favorite meal of our trip. We'll definitely go back in the future.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank yuttay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crazy Crab Harbour Town also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Crazy Crab Harbour Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing