We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our family favorite.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swallowtail at Sea Pines
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Still our family favorite.”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were very impressed with the significant improvements made to both bathrooms since last year. These areas were updated with new flooring, lighting, countertops, and fresh paint. They were very much needed. Upstairs, the large hot tub has been removed ( we never used it at all in 7 years ), and a huge shower enclosure now dominates that end of the room. The big changes
made our stay much more enjoyable!
Mention should be made of the layout. The two levels allows greater flexibility in sleeping arrangements and although our usual family gatherings might not suit every visitor, we have had
8-9 adults and children in our condo. Do not try this at the more modern timeshare units that
dominate the market today.
An oldie but for us, a true goodie!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
5 Thank PTYChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We purchased someone's timeshare week. The place does have an older design, but still great.

UNIT- 2 levels, lots of windows. (Handicap accessible units are available per their brochure). Upstairs bedroom king bed and separate sitting area with pull out sofa. The downstairs bedroom has 2 twin beds. Living room also with lots of seating and pull out sofa. 3 flat screen tv's - largest in living room. We had a patio overlooking the golf course - very quiet. Kitchen very clean, fully stocked with dishes, pots& pans. Washer and dryer in kitchen. Each unit has its own recycling and garbage can outside which was very convenient. We were very close to the pool and the grill.

The entire unit was clean and maintenence responded immediately when called (we noticed one burner on stove was not heating up).

Sea Pines- great location. We were actually across from Sea Pines Center. Easy location. Lots to do. You get a parking pass from the resort for the week.

Great place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Ladybug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My parents have owned 2 weeks in the summer at SwallowTail since 1976 - Swallow Tail has been in the family since I was 6 months old. It began as a summer vacation spot for us but has now evolved nearly 40 years later to a family reunion spot. My parents still own 2 weeks and my 5 sisters and I now own our own weeks as timeshare weeks and their respective units have become available to purchase through the years......all of us a stones throw away from one another. Our family of 8 is now made up of our spouses and multiple children and now the 13 cousins spend time doing what my sisters and I have done as children which is plenty: Swimming, beach days, outdoor BBQ, shuffleboard, tennis, bike rides into harbor town, golf, crabbing, Salty Dog Cafe restaurant outings, shopping and searching for the best ice cream cones on the island. It seems to our entire family that Swallow Tail has worked tirelessly to keep up with the changing times concerning decor through the years. They are not extravagent units and the accommodations for a family with multiple children is not left to be concerned with children destroying the unit and costing the parents a fortune to fix or replace something in it. The ammenities are plenty and we never want for anything.....and if we did, the conjierge is quick to respond to our needs. We make large dinner feasts in the kitchen which is well stocked, the washer and dryers are fairly newer, flat screen TV's throughout with a DVD player. The sheets are nice and plenty of towels in the unit....not to mention a sunken Tub in the master bath with a skylight above you. If you rent bikes as well, Swallowtail provides a mini type of open garage for your bikes. I don't know about you but I don't like the idea of being nickle and dimed and for the cost per night of lodging on the island - but you get a lot for your money....and to us it is about Location, Location, Location - and you can't get any better then Swallow Tail. If you happen to come across a week or a few days for rent from the original timeshare owner, grab it. You will thoroughly enjoy your stay in these quaint units as a home away from home with your family. I have provided a picture of my family behind the SwallowTail units from 2009.....where we have our pictures taken professionally every year. Nothing like memories, nothing like family!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Let me start off by saying that we own here and have owned here since before Swallowtail, inside SeaPines, on Hilton Head, was even built. Way back to the 70's. That was even before Marriott got into TimeShare. About 50% of the original owners from back then still own their units and most of the owners use their weeks every year and never make them available to the public.
We own 3 weeks here, and they are treasures. My children looked forward so much to their time at Swallowtail every year. We own fixed weeks, 25,26 & 27 so we are guaranteed 4th of July every year. And the 4th at Harbour Town, under the stars, is like no other celebration anywhere in the US of A. Now my children bring their children here and relive so many pleasant memories.
The units are being renovated as I write this and that is a marvelous thing as they were getting dated and tired. And so many of the facilities near bye are also being redone, meaning the entire area will have a new, more attractive look.
But Swallowtail is all about Location, Location, Location. A short walk to Harbour Town not far from the beach, restaurants, Golf, Tennis, Horseback riding, etc.
Park your car and you can virtually not have to use it all week. Trade it for bikes and off your family goes to everywhere.
This is not a flashy resort but more of a family resort with great values and a warm, very friendly feeling. Unfortunately, finding an above average reservation on Hilton Head for 4th of July (and most of the entire Summer in SeaPines) is very difficult, so your family may never have the opportunity to experience the Red, White & Blue, Fourth. You can always check with The Club Group at 843-671-1400 for availability.
But if you get the opportunity to stay at Swallowtail, don't pass up the chance. It is great and getting better. Let me know what you think.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank Funfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Its seems like the place hasn't been updated since 1978. Paper thin walls, serviceable kitchen, barely average bathrooms, and the smell of "wet-dog" in the air...all with a Brady Bunch decor. I think a Best Western may have more modern decor. The Management really needs to update the place!

The best thing about this place is the location - great for biking, golfing, and close to the beach. I believe this is exactly why Management has never felt the need to invest in upgrades.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank PD2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powhatan, va
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The a/c could not keep up with upstairs unless we kept all curtains closed. Mold was easy to spot in the air vents. We had a horrendous problem with fruit flies all week. Maintenance was attentive and housekeeping was responsive to our needs. We attended the "welcome breakfast" on Monday - what a joke! It was scheduled to start at 9am and we actually arrived about 10 minutes early and went on in. There were only 3 plate size muffin trays out and 1 fruit platter. By 9:00 it was all gone!! We even had to ask for water and the person manning the table seemed irritated that we had ask her for something. This is the first time in all my years of attending a timeshare welcome breakfast that 1) - they ran out of food 2) there were no giveaways/prizes to win for your vacation. Skip the "breakfast" and don't waste your vacation time on that. Management needs to step up to the plate and invest some $ in updates. While the location is nice, we probably won't return here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank powhatanacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a nice 2BR/2BA on the Golf Course (Though with a good Tree Barrier) A little too close to the pool where some ignored the hours it is open and were there making a lot of noise late in the evening…but it was not rely bad. The frieda kid particularly loved the Gator in the pond obsessed with it (No worry it would be hard pressed to get up the hill amor in the pool area) The place was well furnished , nicer than it looks in the photos, The extra Den upstairs was nice for me to use when I had to do some work. Comfortable Beds, easy parking. We wold stay again, the trolley stops just across the street which is good as parking at the beach club is difficult. Pool could have been bigger but was not crowded ever.

Room Tip: All Rooms are about the same, so no preference here, if you like the pool at your doorstep you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravlerRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.9 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Heritage Club
Marriott's Heritage Club
#22 of 28 in Hilton Head
72 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Club
Marriott's Harbour Club
#21 of 52 in Hilton Head
109 reviews
6.9 mi away
14 Crabline Home
14 Crabline Home
#46 of 52 in Hilton Head
3 reviews
3.3 mi away
Coral Reef Resort
Coral Reef Resort
#5 of 52 in Hilton Head
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallowtail at Sea Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallowtail at Sea Pines

Property: Swallowtail at Sea Pines
Address: 70 Lighthouse Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4358
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Swallowtail At Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing