We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slack Management”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swallowtail at Sea Pines
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Slack Management”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Went to this property on a timeshare exchange and stayed in unit 2891. Check in fast and efficient and lots of information given.
The property overlooks the Heron Golf course and the view from the deck area excellent and quiet. Bit the furniture was dirty and needed cleaning before we could sit down on it.The sofas had been undated and were confortable in the lounge area but on closer inspection we found a candy on the floor as well as a piece of popcorn. This set alarm bells ringing.
The guest bedroom had a dead cockroach under the bed and the bathroom had not been cleaned corrctly with a ctacked tissue holder.
The crockery in the kitchen was all cracked and not fit to eat off. The sheets on the beds in the guest room didn't fit and no matress covers.
We complained and the supervisor arrived and arranged for a good clean and replaced all of the crockery.
The bed linen replaced but again did not fit correctly.
we met the manager at the breakfast greeting and to say he was unhelpful would be a gross exageration. Needs to get of his backside and walk the floor and then he would see the problems.
Eventually new maid arrived and understood the problem imeadiatly and solved the problem.
Still enjoyed the holiday and would go back again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oakwoodclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have vacationed in Hilton Head many times over the years. We chose Swallowtail for it's location and it turned out to be the worst accommodations ever. The lack of total updating was the least of the problems. Black mold was growing in the furnace/air cond. room (I believe this is a health hazard) and the strong musty odor made it impossible to use the upstairs master suite. We used the downstairs smaller bedroom and bath where the odor was not quite as bad. Bugs were also an issue and spider webs hung over the front door. Unit 2870 was not clean! When complaining to the Manager, she admitted that Swallowtail was "old and had bugs." We cut our vacation short and left early. We will never stay in any of the old condo's in Sea Pines again. I actually had to air my luggage, etc, outdoors since the musty odor was in everything.

Room Tip: Don't stay in unit 2870.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We spent 2 weeks on Hilton Head and spent the second week here. It is a different style in that it is 2 stories with the master bed and bath on the second floor. The villa was clean, but as stated by other reviews not totally updated – small console TV in the master bedroom. We come to Swallowtail for the atmosphere. It is away from the beach and surrounded by trees and many walking and bike paths. Our villa was on the lagoon where we could sit on the deck and watch the birds and alligators (a mother and 2 babies).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lagoon or if not the golf course, otherwise you have a view of the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rorudupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I recently bought here and love the property. It has the best of all worlds. You can relax in quiet townhouse. You have enough room to entertain. You are in Sea Pines so you have access to bike trails and semi-private beaches.

Only downside is lack of amenities at the property and units are not fully updated (although they continue to work on them every year).

Can't really go wrong with this property

Room Tip: Pick rooms on far right when entering from Lighthouse road. They have lagoon and golf course views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cptdkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving week at Swallowtail at Sea Pines on Hilton Head Island. We went into the exchange knowing that this was an older resort and would probably be a bit outdated. While this was the case, the facility itself was impeccably clean (down to the showers in the pool area and the grills made available to guests) and obviously well-maintained. The staff were very friendly and willing to assist with absolutely anything we needed. We would not hesitate to stay at this resort again. Just goes to show that if you go in with an open mind, you might just have a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zipporah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We own a time share and thru our exchange company were able to reserve a 2BR/2BA unit. The unit was spacious and convenent to Harbor Town or the beach. We enjoyed our stay. The living room furnishings were updated and nice. The only suggestion I would make is strip off the dated wall paper and slap on a new coat of paint. The check in staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rltipton86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have been using this spacious unit for family get-togethers for 5 summers now. While the location is simply the best on the island ( we are prejudiced ), the maintenance and upkeep has slowly slid downhill. Our's needed paint, wallapaper, ceiling leak repairs, and some new furniture. On the plus side, the management is truly helpful and tries to meet your needs. We'll be back next year for sure - just hope to see some of the needs addressed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PTYChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.9 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Heritage Club
Marriott's Heritage Club
#22 of 28 in Hilton Head
72 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Club
Marriott's Harbour Club
#21 of 52 in Hilton Head
109 reviews
6.9 mi away
14 Crabline Home
14 Crabline Home
#46 of 52 in Hilton Head
3 reviews
3.3 mi away
Coral Reef Resort
Coral Reef Resort
#5 of 52 in Hilton Head
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallowtail at Sea Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallowtail at Sea Pines

Property: Swallowtail at Sea Pines
Address: 70 Lighthouse Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4358
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Swallowtail At Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing