We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the relaxation and access this timeshare offers.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swallowtail at Sea Pines
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the relaxation and access this timeshare offers.”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I recently bought here and love the property. It has the best of all worlds. You can relax in quiet townhouse. You have enough room to entertain. You are in Sea Pines so you have access to bike trails and semi-private beaches.

Only downside is lack of amenities at the property and units are not fully updated (although they continue to work on them every year).

Can't really go wrong with this property

Room Tip: Pick rooms on far right when entering from Lighthouse road. They have lagoon and golf course views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cptdkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving week at Swallowtail at Sea Pines on Hilton Head Island. We went into the exchange knowing that this was an older resort and would probably be a bit outdated. While this was the case, the facility itself was impeccably clean (down to the showers in the pool area and the grills made available to guests) and obviously well-maintained. The staff were very friendly and willing to assist with absolutely anything we needed. We would not hesitate to stay at this resort again. Just goes to show that if you go in with an open mind, you might just have a great experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank zipporah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We own a time share and thru our exchange company were able to reserve a 2BR/2BA unit. The unit was spacious and convenent to Harbor Town or the beach. We enjoyed our stay. The living room furnishings were updated and nice. The only suggestion I would make is strip off the dated wall paper and slap on a new coat of paint. The check in staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rltipton86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have been using this spacious unit for family get-togethers for 5 summers now. While the location is simply the best on the island ( we are prejudiced ), the maintenance and upkeep has slowly slid downhill. Our's needed paint, wallapaper, ceiling leak repairs, and some new furniture. On the plus side, the management is truly helpful and tries to meet your needs. We'll be back next year for sure - just hope to see some of the needs addressed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PTYChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed here as part of a timeshare exchange. The unit was definitely not luxurious but it was clean and everything we needed. It is a short bicycle ride from the beach and shopping/dining. The pool area was well kept and never over crowded. We had a nice deck area overlooking the golf course - great place to have breakfast! We were pretty much centrally located and everything was very easy and convenient to get to. It was confusing that we had to stop st the entrance of sea pines to get a car pass and then find the rental office elsewhere- nowhere in our email/confirmation was this explained. Other than the check in/car pass frustration, everything was good. One word of warning- if you go out on the deck and close the sliding door, it locks behind you! We found this out the hard way... With our phones, wallets, car keys locked inside :). Be careful of those locking doors!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kimberly3810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Our unit was spacious, quiet and well equipped, and in a good location convenient to everything in Sea Pines. Bike path in front and October is the perfect time to use it. We rented bikes across the street for the week - there's covered storage by the front door. Golf course and lagoon complete with 'gator in the back. Easy bike ride to beach and Harbor Town. Decor could use an update in spots but with the economy that's not a priority. Staff pleasant and helpful. Beach club is great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudburg, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Nice villas on the Heron Point Golf Course. Pros - Shopping center across street didn’t have much because of closures, the town had a lot of that; the location in the center of Sea Pines Plantation was advantageous; the bike trail was right outside the door; the back of villa overlooked golf course allowing us a nice view of the local wildlife; villa was clean, roomy and had all the necessities including internet access.

Cons - there were no organized activities, the pool was small, there was just 2 shuffleboard courts and the available beach was a drive away.

Great place for couple wanting golf or a family with young children. Older teenagers might be bored. Sea Pines Plantation and Hilton Head in general is very low key. Bike trails are wonderful, wildlife is everywhere, watercraft available, but not much else.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Trinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.9 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Heritage Club
Marriott's Heritage Club
#21 of 28 in Hilton Head
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Harbour Club
Marriott's Harbour Club
#8 of 52 in Hilton Head
102 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Head - Ocean Villas
Hilton Head - Ocean Villas
#38 of 52 in Hilton Head
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallowtail at Sea Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallowtail at Sea Pines

Property: Swallowtail at Sea Pines
Address: 70 Lighthouse Rd, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4358
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Swallowtail At Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing