We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Setting, Ambiance and Food excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Fort Pub

Old Fort Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Fort Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 365 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression". Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy Chef Keith Josefiak’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for a celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
270 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Setting, Ambiance and Food excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Truly one of the excellent, elegant restaurants on Hilton Head. Located on Skull Creek, the restaurant is hard to find. Ambiance includes history, views and the old time setting of this restaurant. Far from inexpensive but the experience is one of the best on the island. We make a pilgrimage to Old Fort with every family vacation to HHI. Fish always fresh, She Crab soup without equal. Would have rated five stars but crawfish cakes from special menu were mostly bread and with very little flavor of the crawfish. I expect better from this establishment. Veal steak was excellent.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doubleeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    146
    70
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Old Fort Pub but it will not be our last!! If you're looking for a white tablecloth, amazing views, excellent food, outstanding service, dining experience, Old Fort Pub is your place!! And the Sunset Martini is delicious!! We can't wait to return!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank downtown075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pricey but special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you want a white-tablecloth restaurant with professional servers and an outstanding waterfront view, the Old Fort Pub is one of the last bastions of fine-dining on Hilton Head Island. Expect to pay for a fine dining experience and walk away satisfied with the food, service, and atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ate on a Friday night during the busy season and the GM was wonderful . She was friendly, engaging, and made sure we were well taken care of during our wait for a table--which was well worth it as she promised.

We had a great time at the bar, and the she crab soup was delicious. My meal was well presented and tasty, although I could have used a bit more flavor. It was a notch too bland for me--but I ate the whole thing, so obviously it couldn't have been that bad :-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SCoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delicious food/ Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Beautiful view and delicious food! The staff was extremely attentive and made knowledgeable wine recommendations- a great night out in a quiet location.

The only complaint I have is the musty smell of the restaurant when you walk in. It smells like your grandmother's house after a flood. Fortunately the dining room was fine and the beautiful view would distract you anyway....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmttrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Fort Pub also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Fort Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing