We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant dining experience”

Charlie's L'Etoile Verte
Ranked #5 of 368 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Another pleasant dining experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I took my sister to Charlie's for dinner on Saturday night during her first visit to Hilton Head. It is a favorite of ours and thought that she would enjoy it too.

We all enjoyed the cheerful and unrushed service and lovely décor as well as the delicious fresh local fish entrees. The meals were attractively plated and served piping hot.
We shared a selection of fruity gelatos for dessert and all went home very happy, once again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    152
    52
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The scallops were perfect! My daughter and husband loved the swordfish. The crab soup was good, but not the best I've had. It wasn't creamy enough. All the desserts were fabulous. My son said the bread udding was terrific. I loved the caramel cake. The service was pleasant and excellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OVERHYPED!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had the worst experience we have ever had on Hilton Head. We went on a Wednesday. The restaurant was full beyond capacity. Our table was in the aisle and everyone kept bumping into us. The wait staff was literally running from table to table. It was like watching a pinball machine. Our waitress had no personality. She appeared only twice at our table-- to take our order and present our check. Food was medicore for the high price and each entree had the same sides. The sides were not tailored to enhace the entree. It felt like a huge tourist trap. I felt like I was on a assembly line designed to move us in and out! Do not go to this restaurant. It is so far overhyped. You will be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful restaurant, attentive staff, great food. The interior of this restaurant is beautiful, charming. Nice wine list. Loved my steak.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asbpgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best on the Island”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a lovely meal! From the comforting southern ambience and hospitality to the divine food, the was my favorite night out of the week. My friend and my son had flounder and grouper, both were beautifully prepared. I had swordfish. The best I've ever had. It's tricky to cook and keep it moist and flavorful. This one was perfect and a large serving. The potato casserole was to die for and the dish also came with carrots, broccoli and asparagus. Smart cocktails and wine and the best dessert selection I saw all week.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randall B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's L'Etoile Verte also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charlie's L'Etoile Verte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing