We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Food on the Island”

Charlie's L'Etoile Verte
Ranked #5 of 368 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: French, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best Food on the Island”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Charlie's is expensive, so I recommend going at lunch when you can get almost the same selections as they have for dinner. The flounder meuniere is phenomenal ($16), the service is great, and the ambiance is French country. I was told by a long time resident of the island that Charlie's is the first choice for Bill Clinton when he is on the island.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    152
    52
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oak Hill,Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Charmiing”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a wine tasting dinner here. They had two wonderful sommeliers telling us about the wines being paired with the food. Both were very knowledgable. The restaurant is quaint and charming. We had multiple courses and each course was enjoyable and tasty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sidediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seated by the fireplace”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

on a rainy Sunday night, we enjoyed a wonderful dinner. Charlie's has been a Hilton Head Island institution for a long time. Bill Clinton used to eat at Charlie's old location, where seating was intimate to say the least. The food was great then and it still is, but now the lovely space contributes much more to the experience. Did I mention the working fireplace, which was blazing last week? My friend and I each had generous fish entrees, tuna and swordfish, which were priced at $26. Introducing the entrees were delightful salads and accompanying them were servings of potato and vegetable. More than enough food, but dessert seemed like a good idea anyway so I ordered a dense chocolate hazelnut tart and coffee, which added a worth-it $10, while my friend sipped the rest of her half bottle of red. Two things to know: reservations are a must, even on a nasty night and Charlie's parking lot is a challenge. There is space on surrounding properties though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fussbudgethhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant on the island”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurant on the island. The restaurant has a charming French farm house atmosphere, friendly wait staff, and always good food.
We brought many friends to this place, and everyone loved it!

The bread (from the French Bakery on the island) is always fresh. I love their salad dressing too!

If you sit down and order before 5:45pm, "3 course early dining menu" is available. The course includes salad, main dish (choose from 3-5 dishes), and dessert for $19 (or $20).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hanaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
230 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Great Service - A must visit when on HHI”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is our go to restaurant for special occasions and when company comes to visit.... especially if they want to pick up the check. I had the grouper and it was perfectly prepared.. Watch out - the plates are very hot!!! I can't begin to tell you how great this place is, many wonderful fish choices and all prepared perfectly. My husband had the Mahi Mahi with a mango sauce, and the She Crab soup - loved it!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's L'Etoile Verte also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charlie's L'Etoile Verte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing