We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Private Room”
Review of Red Fish

Red Fish
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Palmetto Bay
Description: Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks in an upscale casual dining environment. An annual recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, our Wine Retail Shop offers 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose from either to take home or enjoy with your meal (small corkage fee applies).
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Private Room”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and I recently traveled to Hilton Head for a wedding and were completely blown away by the reception at Redfish Restaurant. The food (Sea Bass and Filet), the service (Nicole and Betsy) and the open kitchen/ wine cellar concept for the private room were all absolutely amazing. We loved everything so much we went back the very next night for dinner and were just as impressed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank douglas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,137
    359
    124
    44
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Someone recommended us this place and boy, did we love this place.

I had the best burger and my wife had the freshest seafood... excellent!

Order what you like and can't go wrong.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JunkTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great outside dining!!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My sister and I enjoyed a very nice dinner and glass of wine at the Redfish. We shared the Crab Cakes and Vegetable Strudel plus the Southwestern wedge salad. We sat out on their outdoor patio and had to move once as it started to rain, part of the area is roofed and we really enjoyed the outdoor dining. The salad was wonderful, crisp and tasty. The crabcakes were good, I actually prefer lump crabmeat in those and these were shredded. The vegetable strudel was very good, wrapped in a crisp phyllo and not too rich, I would order that again. All in all a very pleasurable experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pugnut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice outdoor area to dine in the evening with heat lamps but that was probably the best part. Food was only OK-the black bean soup was overly salty and the edamame hummus was just a bad idea. I love hummus and edamame but this had an unappetizing texture and flavor, something was just off about it. Calamari was bland (little seasoning in the coating would help) and the sauce served with it didn't work. Mojito was pretty good but I don't think we would return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pugnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Post Half Marathon Dinner Delight”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I found the following most noteworthy about Red Fish, Hilton Head: Winner of 2008 Taste of the Season!Voted by the Readers of Hilton Head Monthly Magazine *Best Wine Selection! (2008 & 09)*Favorite Restaurant for Lunch! (2008 & 09)*Favorite Restaurant for Burgers! (2008)*Favorite Caterer (2008)
Boasting of over 1,300 wines, My friends and I finished the Savannah Half Marathon 2013 and decided to dive in with Red Fish. We left Savannah that Saturday afternoon due to room rates being elevated to near $400. Only 46 miles away was Hilton Head Island where we decided to stay for the night. Searching for a nice place to dine, with very large appetites, we came across Red Fish on the internet. The urban casual but upscale restaurant had a wonderful cuisine menu offering varieties of low country meals, seafood, steaks and a wet-your-appetite assortment of appetizers. I had the scallops with asparagus which were spicy and juicy and delicious. We all shared the crab dip and bread which came with a wonderfully unique dip made with lemon juice, cilantro, onion, olive oil, garlic. Highly recommend this restaurant if you are in Hilton Head any time soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cabanajulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Red Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing