We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing atmosphere, lovely staff”
Review of Red Fish

Red Fish
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 368 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Palmetto Bay
Description: Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks in an upscale casual dining environment. An annual recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, our Wine Retail Shop offers 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose from either to take home or enjoy with your meal (small corkage fee applies).
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere, lovely staff”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I went in for just a cocktail as the kids were out and about. We started at the bar and while the place was crowded it was not too loud and it hummed along quite nicely. The hostesses were gracious and welcoming and the bartender while very busy made us feel quite welcome by chatting about our vacation and what our day was like. We decided to stay and the food was excellent. It was nice sitting at the bar and seeing the place run along and chat with others who were sitting with us. I would love to bring the kids back and sit outside as it looked very welcoming.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paco1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,129
    356
    124
    43
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I recently ate at Redfish for lunch. I had the shrimp tacos which had fried shrimp, some sort of salsa-based sauce, and good bean covered rice. It was really good. Our server, Kelly, was very aware of our drinks and was checking on us a lot. She was very friendly and showed a very friendly attitude. I would love to return here for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoelImit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Adequate for Lunch”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice menu selection, but salad portions woefully inadequate for an entrée at lunch for the price. Sandwiches good and served with fresh fruit, if desired. Have eaten here a good number of times and the menu is getting stale. The service can be quite good, but also quite inattentive if the restaurant is the slightest bit busy at lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REED E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Heavy but delicious”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Enjoyed our dinner here with family of 9. Very slow
service, but quality preparation. The waiter disappeared
occasionally-not sure why. However, the items were
delivered hot and tasted delicious but not for those seeking
a light dinner..
Not memorable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank icecreamdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Depends on the chef”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Overall a good restaurant. We went there twice while in hilton head. Our first visit the Food was OUTSTANDING, but our waiter was far less than that. While nice not attentive at all.

Our second visit the food was okay (considering the price) but our service was outstanding. Met the chef from our first night and saw why our food was so good.

Overall good place, but can be inconsistent and not cheap

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Red Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing