We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite restaurant on Hilton Head”
Review of Red Fish

Red Fish
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Palmetto Bay
Description: Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks in an upscale casual dining environment. An annual recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, our Wine Retail Shop offers 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose from either to take home or enjoy with your meal (small corkage fee applies).
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant on Hilton Head”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Our family makes a tradition of dining here each trip to Hilton Head. The food is always incredible! My husband had the halibut, I had the scallops, and my kids enjoyed the chicken and the crab cakes. Our waiter was excellent and recommended wine to pair with our entrees. We ended our meal with perfect key lime pie. Fresh food, excellent service - this restaurant is #1 for us!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Equestrianmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,153
    370
    127
    47
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“HHI BEST!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We always have a great experience at Red Fish and this year was no exception. Kelli took great care of us, suggesting excellent wine pairings and the sea bass was outstanding as usual! My husband tried the crabcakes for the first time and he said they were the best he's ever had. We can't wait to come back in the fall. This place is a must!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golfgal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
“A must stop!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went in for a late night desert sitting at the bar and the bar staff(Kelly, Betsy, and Jimmy) did a great job at taking care of us! We shared the carrot cake and it was by far the best carrot cake we've ever had!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 440Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“First time and loved it!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I make it to Hilton Head about six weekends a year and more times than not we go to the same places to dine. We made a decision to try at least one new restaurant every other trip. We read some reviews on TripAdvisor and found that Redfish was right around the corner from where we were staying and decided to give it a try. Glad we did.

The restaurant is very nice and clean and because it wasn't too hot we decided to dine outside. Our waiter was very attentive, but not overly so. He gave us a couple of recommendations and we tried one of them and it was delicious. We started off with an order of shrimp spring rolls that may have been some of the best we've ever had. For dinner we had the sea bass (his recommendation) and filet. The fish was perfectly cooked and had an incredible flavor. My steak could be cut with a fork and was cooked just right. We shared an order of their lobster mac and cheese which I would recommend to anyone. In fact, I might make a meal out of just that side dish the next time.

To accompany our dinner we ordered a nice bottle of Cabernet. It was a Raymond Reserve and went especially well with my steak.

Good service, good food, nice atmosphere. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING SERVICE..THANKS BETSY!!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our second trip to Red Fish on Hilton Head....we requested Betsy because she was so fabulous on our last visit. The food was amazing ...as always...and Betsy treated us like family!!!! Dinner here is a must! Thanks for a great meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Red Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing