We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Red Fish

Red Fish
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Palmetto Bay
Description: Red Fish specializes in excellent seafood and steaks in an upscale casual dining environment. An annual recipient of Wine Spectator Magazine's Best of Award of Excellence since 2001, our Wine Retail Shop offers 1300 wines from around the world for you to choose from either to take home or enjoy with your meal (small corkage fee applies).
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Delicious food, all freash sea food, great wine selection with many bottles available for purchase, wonderful service, we ate on the deck.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,162
    375
    130
    49
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

First trip to Hilton Head and we had a great evening at Red Fish. My wife and I both had the scallops and loved them! Betsy was very attentitive and gave us great tips on places we must see in the lowcountry. We will return next time in HH.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mustardboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Hills, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Read the great reviews and went last night. The appetizers we ok. My son ordered the foie gras burger medium rare, came well done, they took it back, came back well done again and the foie gras was missing! I guess it is a seafood place. I ordered the tilapia and my husband had the shrimp and grits, both kind of indifferently cooked, no seasoning. Wine list is mininal, says they have 1500 wines but that is in the shop, no list available! Seems a bit of a factory.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great service, wine, food and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Reserved through opentable and asked for fire place seating for my wife's birthday. I got what I asked for and more. Amazing wine selection, although the $10 corkage fee is a little unreasonable. The food was fabulous including the salad, appetizer, dinner and desert. I really don't think there are many restaurants on HHI that can deliver this quality. If you have not been, you have to try it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DGStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Usually one of our HHI faves”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We always go to Red Fish when we are in HHI. On this visit three of the four of us were happy. The salmon and grouper were very good but the shrimp and lobster burger did not taste as good as it sounded. I'd also forgotten how noisy it can be in the big open room. Overall a good meal but not outstanding.

Helpful?
Thank rwalk1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Fish also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Red Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing